February 24, 2018 / 3:00 AM

Stay Connected

Ray Price's final album 'Beauty Is...' coming in April

When country legend Ray Price died of pancreatic cancer at the age of 87 in December, one of the first questions asked was whether the performer had any unreleased music left. Price had hinted during his last interview, with Rolling Stone, that he had at least 12 new songs waiting for release. No dates or potential title was given, but the question's been cleared up with Wednesday's announcement that Beauty Is..., the collection of Price's final 12 recordings, would be released April 15.

Most notable will be Price's two collaborative tracks with guitarist Vince Gill ("Beauty Lies in the Eyes of the Beholder" and "Until Then"), as well as one team effort with Martina McBride ("An Affair to Remember"). Appropriately, the album was produced by Fred Foster, his buddy and producer of his 2007 album Last of The Breed.

"He called me in 2012 and said, 'I think I have one album left in me; I'm not well, you know,'" Foster said in a statement. "He said, 'I want to do one last one, and I want you to do it with me.' The whole time we were working together, his state of mind was always really good. You would never know how sick he was to talk to him. What a classy guy."

Alas you won't be able to get the album everywhere. Like with Garth Brooks' recent compilation Blame It On My Roots, Price's last album will be a WalMart exclusive. Well, kind of. You can get it at Cracker Barrel locations as well. If you can't wait until April, a three-song EP previewing the album will be available March 16 on Amazon.

The full track list is below.

01) Beauty Lies in The Eyes of The Beholder (with Vince Gill)
02) This Thing of Ours
03) I Can See You
04) It Will Always Be
05) No More Songs to Sing
06) An Affair to Remember (with Martina McBride)
07) Senses
08) Until Then (with Vince Gill)
09) Beautiful Dreamer
10) I Wish I Was 18 Again
11) Souveniers
12) I Believe

See More Ray Price

Real Time Analytics