The xx Unveil New Album 'I See You,' Single 'On Hold'

By Ryan Middleton | Nov 10, 2016 10:55 AM EST

The music community is by-and-large mourning the outcome of Tuesday's presidential race, but The xx look to try and turn a few of those frowns upside down with the announcement of their new album I See You. In addition to the new album's release date and tracklist, the group has also shared the lead single from I See You titled "On Hold."

"On Hold" showcases more production from Jamie xx than one might have expected from past records. It samples Hall & Oats "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)" with a repeated, distorted vocal bit.

Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim coo to each other lines about young love that eventually falls apart. Pick up the single here.

The band understands just how tenuous a time this was to announce music. "We realize these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way," wrote the group on Facebook.

Watch video

I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in Marfa, Texas, Los Angeles, New York, London and Reykjavik. It was produced by Jamie Smith (xx) with Rodaidh McDonald.

The album will be available in CD, LP and digital formats. There will be three different vinyl versions made available as well. The first is your standard vinyl, which comes with a digital download and CD copy. Then an indie vinyl that has a limited edition clear vinyl, plus the download and CD. It is available in independent record stores.

Finally there is a deluxe box set that arrives in a silver mirri board with the album on a 180g vinyl, with 3 extra bonus tracks, album CD, enhanced CD featuring a live video of the bonus track "Brave For You (Marfa Demo)" and 3 exclusive prints by Alasdair McLellan.

I See You will be released on Jan. 13, 2017. It can be pre-ordered here. Find the full tracklist below.

I See You Tracklist:
1. Dangerous
2. Say Something Loving
3. Lips
4. A Violent Noise
5. Performance
6. Replica
7. Brave For You
8. On Hold
9. I Dare You
10. Test Me

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

Related Stories

Most Popular