June 25, 2018 / 11:30 AM

Stay Connected

Stellar Gospel Awards 2016: Nominees Revealed, Rickey Smiley, Sherri Shepherd Return as Hosts



Once again, gospel music stars will be recognized in the 31st Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards which will be co-hosted by Rickey Smiley and Sherri Shepherd, to be held at the at the Las Vegas Orleans Arena on Saturday, Feb. 20, 2016.

The Stellar Gospel Music Awards, which is dubbed as the "biggest night in gospel music" will have a pre-show scheduled on Feb. 19 for non-televised awards winners. There are 28 categories for the award and the names of the nominees were already unveiled.

Anthony Brown has the most nominations in ten categories including the Male Vocalist of the Year and Producer of the Year. The Group therAPy is a contender for Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Group/Duo of the Year, CD of the Year, Choir of the Year, Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year, Contemporary CD of the Year, and Recorded Music Packaging of the Year, Yahoo! reported.

Next to Brown is the Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago which received eight nominations that include for Producer of the Year and Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year. His group is also nominated for Song of the Year, CD of the Year, Choir of the Year, Traditional CD of the Year, Music Video of the Year and Traditional Choir of the Year.

Erica Campbell also has eight nominations while Tasha Cobbs received six nods. The two are competing for the awards of Artist of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, CD of the Year, Contemporary Female Vocalist of the Year and Contemporary CD of the Year. In addition, Campbell was also nominated for Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year while Cobb is also a contender for Praise and Worship CD of the Year.

Richard Smallwood is nominated for Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year while his group Vision received a nod for Traditional Choir of the Year, Special Event CD of the Year and Praise and Worship CD of the Year. As for the Announcer of the Year, Carmina Barnett from KHVN/Dallas, Tracy Bethea Bodie from WHAL/Memphis, Lee Michaels from WCAO/Baltimore, and Billy St. James from KPZK/Little Rock are the nominees, Urban Christian News reported.

Aside from those mentioned, Israel & New Breed, Jonathan McReynolds, Tina Campbell, The Rance Allen Group, Casey J and Dorinda Clark Cole also received multiple nominations for the award.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics