June 22, 2018 / 5:22 AM

Stay Connected

Snow Patrol Teases New Music From First Album In 7 Years



Snow Patrol just announced that they will be releasing their first album in seven years. Wildness will be available starting May 25 via Republic.

On Thursday, the band dropped an over one-minute album trailer for Wildness, which shows Gary Lightbody, Johnny McDaid, Nathan Connolly, and Paul Wilson singing and playing instruments.

Wildness follows the band's 2011 hit record, Fallen Empires, which featured the songs "I'll Never Let Go," "Called Out In the Dark," "The Weight of Love," "This Isn't Everything You Are," "The Garden Rules," "Berlin," "Lifening," "New York," "In the End," "Those Distant Bells," "The Symphony," and more.

Gary Lightbody Talks About 'Wildness'

Prior to Snow Patrol's album's release, Lightbody opened up about Wildness. The album is produced by Jackknife Lee.

"There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all its confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness. Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it," said Lightbody.

Wildness is now available for preorder.

'Fallen Empires' Theme

In 2011, Lightbody opened up about Fallen Empires and said that the band's sixth studio album is very different from their previous records.

"There was more laughter than ever before. This is the first in a new wave of albums - we went to the sunshine and made a sunshine record. It's not a dance album, but there are electronic elements," said Lightbody.

Who Is Snow Patrol?

The Northern Irish-Scottish band was formed in 1993, and it consists of original members Lightbody, Connolly, Wilson, Jonny Quinn, and Johnny McDaid. Previous members of Snow Patrol include Tom Simpson, Mark McClelland, and Michael Morrison.

Some of the band's album includes Eyes Open, Final Straw, A Hundred Million Suns, Songs for Polarbears, When It's All Over We Still Have to Clear Up, Up to Now, Starfighter Pilot, and more.

Snow Patrol's most popular songs include "Chasing Cars," "Run," "Open Your Eyes," "Just Say Yes," "Called Out In the Dark," "Set the Fire to the Third Bar," "Chocolate," "You're All I Have," "Signal Fire," "You Could Be Happy," "Crack the Shutters," "Spitting Games," "In the End," "New York," "Shut Your Eyes," "Hands Open," and "How to Be Dead."

Snow Patrol will also be embarking on a tour across Europe this summer.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics