April 27, 2018 / 2:30 AM

Stay Connected

The Dead Weather To Put Out a Series of Singles Before Releasing Full-Length Album



The Dead Weather announced in late August that they were back in the studio. Today Third Man Records announced what the band has planned. According to the press release, Jack White, Alison Mosshart, Dean Fertita and Jack Lawrence will record and release two new songs on 7" vinyl as part of a singles release series. The band will do this in sets of two until 2015 at which time they will release a full-length album containing the previously released singles as well as "many more album-only tracks."

The first 7" features the songs "Open Up (That's Enough) and "Rough Detective." They will initially be released via Vault subscription on a "striking yellow jacket vinyl and coupled with a custom glue-pocket picture sleeve," but will eventually be available digitally after subscriptions have been mailed.

The release describes the two new songs as "unlike anything else the band has ever done and are both ample reminders of the ferocity of this motley collection of low-lifes, grifters and ne'er-do-wells. These songs are not throw-aways. These songs are not demos. These songs are not outtakes."

The Vault package will also include a DVD and CD of The Raconteurs' September 2011 show at Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. You can order the subscription on Third Man's website until Oct. 31.

Listen to a snippet of "Open Up (That's Enough)" on Stereogum, and let us know what you think in the comments section below!

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics