June 18, 2018 / 5:46 AM

Stay Connected

Alabama Shakes Announce New Album 'Sound & Color' and Drop First Single "Don't Wanna Fight" [TRACKLIST]



The follow-up to the Alabama Shakes's debut album Boys & Girls is finally coming. Sound & Color will drop April 21, Consequence of Sound reported. The band shared the new album's tracklist and lead single "Don't Wanna Fight" to celebrate the announcement, which fans are undoubtedly happy about considering it has been three years since their first album was released.

"Don't Wanna Fight" has the band picking up right where it left off. The groove is funkier, the production sleeker and the influences as evident as ever. Brittany Howard lets out a Prince-like shriek before she settles into her bluesy vocals that owe as much to Sharon Jones as they do to Wilson Pickett. There is more syncopation in this tune than any of the band's previous work, and that is actually a good thing. Somehow they have managed to elevate their distinct soul, garage-rock sound without losing its pop sensibilities.

Check out the video for the tune and the tracklist below and get ready to start your countdown to the release date. Head over to the group's website to pre-order the album.

"We took our time to write this record, and I'm really glad we did," Howard wrote in a statement. "We were able to sit down and think about what's exciting to us. This record is full of genre-bending songs."

Boys & Girls hit No. 6 on the Billboard 200 and No. 3 on the US Rock Albums charts. The album featured standouts like "Hold On," "Hang Loose" and "Rise to the Sun." The band quickly became a favorite act among the indie rock community.

"It's a girl named Brittany, singing about fighting and f**king and how she 'didn't think I'd make it to 22 years old.' Run for cover! Actually, Brittany Howard is in total control on the Athens, Alabama, band's debut, rendering garage-R&B revivalism without a shred of irony," RS wrote about the album, giving it 3 1/2 out of five stars.

The group already has stops scheduled for spring, including sets at Coachella and Bonnaroo. Visit Songkick for ticket information.

Sound & Color tracklist
 01. Sound and Color
02. Don’t Wanna Fight
03. Dunes
04. Future People
05. Gimme All Your Love
06. This Feeling
07. Guess Who
08. The Greatest
09. Shoegaze
10. Miss You
11. Gemini
12. Over My Head

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics