July 18, 2018 / 2:40 PM

Stay Connected

Duran Duran Taps Mark Ronson, Janelle Monae, Kiesza, Nile Rodgers and More for 2015 Release


Duran Duran has confirmed its new album is completed, declaring that the yet untitled album will drop during September, if all goes according to schedule. The new set will come with loads of additional talent, including Janelle Monáe, Mark Ronson, Kiesza, former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante, Mr. Hudson and Nile Rodgers—the Chic guitarist who helped Daft Punk to acclaim on Random Access Memories (from Pitchfork).

Monáe will appear on the album's first single, "Pressure Off," although a release date for that song hasn't been announced yet.

It's been a relatively long time since the band last released an album, although perhaps not as long as fans of Rio might think. The group dropped All You Need Is Now, its last release, during 2010. That album also featured production from Ronson, although the guest list on the tracks themselves was far less eye-catching.

It seems that the world, or at least the music industry, is taking Duran Duran much more seriously than it has in previous years (again perhaps because of the success of Daft Punk and other alternative acts with its retro-pop vibes). The new album will be released on Warner Brothers Music directly, versus the band's former label S-Curve Records, which was bought up by Warner during 2012.

"I am thrilled to welcome Duran Duran into the Warner Bros. family," said Dan McCarroll, president of Warner Brothers Music. "This is an iconic, enduring band that continues to make brilliant, timeless pop music. The combination of Duran Duran, Nile Rodgers, Mark Ronson and Mr Hudson is a dream team, and the songs they have created together for this new record are as fresh and compelling as anything in the band's long career. All of us at WBR are looking forward to working with Simon, Nick, John, and Roger as they begin this exciting new chapter."

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics