June 23, 2018 / 4:39 AM

Stay Connected

Pet Shop Boys Share New Song “Inner Sanctum,” Announce ‘Super’ Album [LISTEN]



Veteran electronic synthpop outfit Pet Shop Boys have announced that their thirteenth studio album, Super, is due to drop April 1 on their own X2 Records via Kobalt. Additionally, the duo shared "Inner Sanctum," the dancefloor-ready first taste of the forthcoming album.

"Inner Sanctum" is a hard-hitting techno track with pulsating synths evocative of the club scene the Pet Shop Boys helped curate decades ago. Fittingly, it arrives on the 30th anniversary of when their classic "West End Girls" hit the no. 1 spot in the UK charts, Thump reports.

Stream the new song via the group's YouTube below.

The album was written by Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe in London and Berlin, and produced and mixed by the duo's longtime collaborator Stuart Price--known for his work on Madonna's Confessions On A Dancefloor--in Los Angeles. The band notes in a press statement "It was fantastic to be back in the studio with Stuart Price continuing from where we left off with Electric and we're thrilled with the results."

Additionally, the Pet Shop Boys announced a few upcoming tour dates including a 4-night residency at London's Royal Opera House on July 20-23. The concert series is also titled Inner Sanctum and will be staged by the group's longtime designer Es Devlin and choreographer Lynne Page.

About the residency, the band said In a press statement: "It's also very exciting to take electronic music into the Royal Opera House­-such a grand and beautiful venue. These will be four very special nights for us and our only UK concerts this year."

Ahead of the new song, the outfit kicked-off their campaign in support of the forthcoming record with a super ravey launch video Billboard reports. In less than one minute of footage the Pet Shop Boys inform fans of the album's release date with lasers and images of sweaty silhouettes dancing. Check it out below.
Super will be out on every medium imaginable besides cassette and is available to preorder on iTunes and Amazon this coming weekend. Check out the tracklist below:

01. Happiness
02. The Pop Kids
03. Twenty-Something
04. Groovy
05. The Dictator Decides
06. Pazzo!
07. Inner Sanctum
08. Undertow
09. Sad Robot World
10. Say It To Me
11. Burn
12. Into Thin Air

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics