May 24, 2018 / 8:00 AM

Stay Connected

Godspeed You! Black Emperor Extends Its ‘Luciferian Towers’ Tour: Here Are The Dates



Godspeed You! Black Emperor has extended its 2018 tour. The series of shows were organized to promote the band's latest album Luciferian Towers.

The band's additional tour dates will kick off in Pittsburgh in May. Its final performance will be held in Vancouver in June. Other show dates and venues include San Diego, California on May 22, Los Angeles on May 23, Portland, Oregon on May 31 and June 1, and Seattle, Washington on June 3.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor's first day of the tour will actually take place on March 5 at the Higher Ground Ballroom in Burlington, Vermont. The show will be followed by the group's performances in Portland, Maine on May 6, Cambridge, Massachusetts on May 7, and more.

Luciferian Towers marks the band's first full-length album since their 2015 project Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress. The album consists of only four songs, namely "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!" "Lambs Breath," "Asunder, Sweet," and "Piss Crowns are Trebled."

Efrim Manuel Menuck Releases Second Album

Other than creating music with his band, Efrim Manuel Menuck is also known for releasing his own songs. Last month, the guitarist announced that he will be unveiling his second LP titled Pissing Stars on Feb. 2. Menuck revealed that his upcoming album was inspired by the brief romance of Mary Hart and Mohammed Khashoggi.

"This album was made in dark corners between 2016 and 2017, a very rough pair of years, shot thru with fatigue, depression, despair, and too many cigarettes and too much booze. But also = the giddiness of enervation, and the strange liberation of being emptied - borne aloft and carried by the drift," said Menuck in a statement.

Who Is Godspeed You! Black Emperor?

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is a Canadian experimental music that was founded in 1994 in Montreal, Quebec. The band releases its music through Constellation, an independent record label. Godspeed You! Black Emperor released its debut album in 1997. The band also went on a series of tours between 1998 and 2002.

One year later, the members of the band announced their indefinite hiatus so that they can focus on their individual careers. In 2010, Godspeed You! Black Emperor reunited and the group has not gone on a break since then. Some of their albums include Yanqui U.X.O., Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven, Slow Riot for New Zero Kanada, and more.

The band's songs include "The Dead Flag Blues," "East Hastings," "We Drift Like Worried Fire," "BBF3," "Mladic," "Their Helicopters Sing," and the like.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics