July 18, 2018 / 8:25 PM

Stay Connected

Family Force 5's "Time Stands Still" Shows a Band that IS NOT Standing Still at All



(Photo : Word Entertainment)
Family Force 5 - Time Stands Still
If you adored Dance or Die or Business Up Front, Party in the Back, Time Stands Still won't be an exact replica of 2008 or 2006, but it will definitely feel like a familiar (and beloved) flashback. With Solomon Olds (SoulGlow Activatur) no longer being on the mic, that is saying a lot because while Jacob Olds (Crouton) and Josh Olds (Fatty) have their own sounds and textures, the new music still sounds like FF5. The sense of playfulness is there, but there is new purpose that shows the world that the band isn't standing still, trying to figure out where to go next.

Family Force 5 has always been serious about making music that honors God while still being danceable. The new elements of worship found on Time Stands Still aren't a departure from that - they're simply a deeper look at an element that has always been there.

The party kicks off with "Sweep the Leg" - a track that lets you know without doubt that you have entered FF5 country. "Jet Pack Kicks" delivers another "oh yeah - this is FF5" moments. If you had any doubts, they're totally gone by track #2. "BZRK" is as whacky and fun as any song they've done.

"Walk On Water," which features Melodie Wagner from Hillsong Young & Free, "Let It Be Love," "When Everything's Changing" and "Never Say Never" veer more into worship territory and while that may cause you to blink at the changing gears, it helps cement the why of it all. Family Force 5 is a Christian band and the members all make music because they love Jesus. When a Christian hard rock band includes a power ballad, no one thinks twice about it so why some folks are trippin' over FF5 having a few dance ballads is a head-scratcher for sure.

Bottom line: Family Force 5 has always danced to their own God-inspired tune and Time Stands Still is not a departure from that fact. They are simply sharing some of the different sides of their identity as a band and as people - taking listeners deeper into who they are and who they worship.

GENRE: Pop / Electronic / Dance
RECORD LABEL: Word Records
RELEASE DATE: August 5, 2014

Time Stands Still Track List:

  1. Sweep The Leg
  2. BZRK (featuring KB)
  3. Show Love
  4. Time Stands Still
  5. Walk On Water (featuring Melodie Wagner of Hillsong Young & Free)
  6. Glow In The Dark
  7. Raised By Wolves
  8. Jet Pack Kicks
  9. XRAY
  10. Let It Be Love
  11. Everybody Lose Your Mind
  12. Dance Like Nobody's Watching
  13. When Everything's Changing
  14. Never Say Never
  15. This Is My Year


  • BZRK
  • Time Stands Still
  • Raised By Wolves

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics