Kele Okereke Streaming New Album 'Trick' Ahead of Release [LISTEN]

| Oct 06, 2014 05:18 PM EDT

We finally have a stream of Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke's new album Trick, and it is a departure from his previous offering with the band and on his 2010 solo debut Boxer.

Focused on a dance sound with plenty of R&B and old-school vibes thrown around, Okereke's new work is available for listening here.

The tracklist for Trick, out Oct. 13, is below:

  1. First Impressions
  2. Coasting
  3. Doubt
  4. Closer
  5. Like We Used To
  6. Humour Me
  7. Year Zero
  8. My Hotel Room
  9. Silver and Gold
  10. Stay the Night

Bloc Party went on hiatus after playing the Latitude Festival last June, but rumors of a reunion tour gave fans hope of reconciliation.

Unfortunately, Okereke recently said a 10th anniversary tour to celebrate their debut album, Silent Alarm, will not be happening.

Watch video

"I think the most impressive thing that we could do as a band would be to respond [by] looking forward and keep on making music to say that we're still motivated," he began. "I think that's more important than revival or some kind of nostalgic experience. I feel that the band isn't some record — at this point it's a collection of records — and I feel that the best way to honor that would be to make more records, not just to look back to where we were."

But "making music" is a less concrete answer for those expecting Bloc Party to reignite the flame with tour dates.

"I don't think that sort of thing does much good for artists," Okereke said. "I always cringe a little bit when you hear about bands going around just touring on a kind of anniversary record. I feel that it just seems a little bit cynical."

After last June's Latitude performance, guitarist Russell Lissack was asked how long the hiatus would last.

"At least six months, maybe a year, maybe two years, it's hard to say," he said.

Meanwhile, Okereke has "no idea."

"I've been speaking to Russell, he's just had a baby so I think he's going to be out of action for a while," Okereke said.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

Related Stories

Most Popular