June 24, 2018 / 5:12 AM

Stay Connected

Kings Kaleidoscope's 'Becoming Who We Are' is a Rare Gem



(Photo : Tooth & Nail Records)
Kings Kaleidoscope - Becoming Who We Are
Following their EP introduction (Live in Color), Tooth & Nail's new worship band, Kings Kaleidoscope, delivers their first full length album with Becoming Who We Are. If I had to sum the project up in one word, it would be "divine." Each song comes with a very laid back feel that is belied by the strong messages being delivered. The 10 member worship band nails every note and do so not by sounding like "so and so," but by being absolutely incomparable to any other band we've heard before. There is a freshness here that you won't be able to find on anything else you listen to, whether it's on the covers or the original tunes.

Opener "Glorious" sets listeners up for the ride and leaves them overjoyed. The get you on your feet "I Know" will have you grinning as you sing along about dancing on Heaven's streets of gold, singing "hallelujah." "Felix Culpa" blends EDM, jazz and rock and shows off the stellar musicianship that Kings Kaleidoscope brings to the table. Such a seamless mixture of styles really does remind one of a kaleidoscope. Individually, each member is excellent but put together, they paint a stunningly beautiful picture. "Ache," which comes next on the track list, gives a totally uncommon sound in modern worship music - that of a DJ mix. Chad Gardner's DJ roots don't just peek out from underneath, they take center stage! Songs like the Dustin Kensrue penned, "Grace Alone," show just how passion sounds. Chad doesn't just sing the song - he breathes new life into it. "Dreams" comes in with an very airy, almost "new age" sound but don't be looking for crystals and chants as this is a love song to God.

Bottom line: Prepare to be stunned! Becoming Who We Are is unabashed praise and stunning worship that will leave you at a loss for words. You'll listen, then you'll listen again and by the end of round 2, you'll wanting to shout Kings Kaleidoscope's praises from the rooftops.

GENRE: Alternative praise and worship
RECORD LABEL: Tooth & Nail Records
RELEASE DATE: October 28, 2014

Becoming Who We Are Track List:

  1. Glorious
  2. Seek Your Kingdom
  3. I Know
  4. Bloom
  5. Felix Culpa
  6. Ache
  7. All Creatures
  8. Grace Alone
  9. Dreams
  10. 139
  11. Redemption in Motion
  12. Zion
  13. Sift
  14. Light After Darkness
  15. Fix My Eyes
  16. How Deep
  17. Defender


  • I Know
  • Defender
  • Felix Culpa
  • Zion
  • Dreams

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics