June 22, 2018 / 11:24 AM

Stay Connected

Beck covers John Lennon 'Love' for Starbucks compilation [LISTEN]



Christmas has just come and gone, so obviously that means that Valentine's Day is right around the corner (for retailers, at least). Starbucks is readying the release of its Sweetheart 2014 compilation, the latest in the coffee chain's series of love-inspired cover songs.

With a tracklist featuring indie rock bigwigs such as Phosphorescent, Vampire Weekend and Fiona Apple, Sweetheart 2014 is sure to be any hipster's dream Valentine's Day present. To help hype up the release of the album, "Loser" singer Beck has revealed his contribution to the album: an acoustic cover of John Lennon's "Love."

Beginning with a somber piano and seguing into a heavy-handed guitar, Beck is highlights the best of "Love" with soft, dazed vocals that wind around the song's signature riffs.

Listen to Beck's version of "Love" below, via Consequence of Sound:

Sweetheart 2014 is due out in Starbucks stores on Feb. 4, 2014.

Check out the full tracklisting below, with the original artist in parenthesis:

1. "Turn Your Lights Down Low," Jim James (Bob Marley)
2. "Con Te Partiro," Vampire Weekend (Andrea Bocelli)
3. "Love," Beck (John Lennon)
4. "Tomorrow Is A Long Time," Phosphorescent (Bob Dylan)
5. "Don't Forget Me," The Head and the Heart (Harry Nilsson)
6. "Happy or Lonesome," Valerie June (The Carter Family)
7. "Always on My Mind," Bahamas (Willie Nelson)
8. "If You Were Mine," Thao (Ray Charlies)
9. "Fade Into You," Ben Harper (Mazzy Star)
10. "I' in the Middle of a Riddle," Fiona Apple (Anton Karas)
11. "The Chain," Brandi Carlile (Fleetwood Mac)
12. "I Hope," Blake Mills (Bobby Charles)
13. "Signed, Sealed, Delivered," Sharon Jones (Stevie Wonder)

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics