June 25, 2018 / 2:19 AM

Stay Connected

fun.'s Andrew Dost Scores Jack Black Film 'The D Train' with Music from INXS, Jack Antonoff & More



Jack Antonoff and Nate Ruess have both launched new branches of their career as fun. take a hiatus, and now it's time for multi-instrumentalist Andrew Dost to break out, and he's doing it by scoring the soundtrack to the upcoming Jack Black/James Marsden film The D Train.

The film, which stars Black as Dan Landsman, a less-than-cool man who's attempting to get Marsden's Oliver Lawless to attend their high school reunion with him, in order to finally achieve popularity. The dark comedy throws back to the '80s, which Dost took inspiration from when composing the score.

"The directors Andrew Mogel and Jarrad Paul, absolutely had a clear vision," Dost said in a press release. "They knew right away that they wanted a synthesizer-driven, John Hughes-esque score. We tried a few different ideas anyway - a western, Morricone style sound, for example - but when we landed back on the synthesizers we knew it was the way to go."

The soundtrack not only features original compositions from Dost, but curated songs from The Vapors, Foreigner, INXS and even Dost's own fun. bandmate Jack Antonoff, who worked on him with the album's lead single "A Million Stars."

Check out the full tracklisting below:

01. "A Million Stars," McCluskey, Kroehler, Antonoff & Dost
02. "So In Love," Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark
03. "Never Tear Us Apart," INXS
04. "Harden My Heart," Quarterflash
05. "I Want to Know What Love Is," Foreigner
06. "Turning Japanese," The Vapors
07. "Kyrie," Mr. Mister
08. "Far Behind," Candlebox
09. "See If I Can Flip You to a Yes," Andrew Dost
10. "Certain Realities of High School," Andrew Dost
11. "Yearbook," Andrew Dost
12. "Heading Out to the West Side on a Biz," Andrew Dost
13. "You Will Be Giving Those People a Gift," Andrew Dost
14. "Coming Home," Andrew Dost
15. "Lawless RSVP-ed," Andrew Dost
16. "Classic Lawless," Andrew Dost
17. "Is That Supposed to Make Me Feel Better?" Andrew Dost
18. "I Peaked in the 11th Grade," Andrew Dost
19. "The D Train," Andrew Dost

The soundtrack for The D Train will be released via Lakeshore Records digitally on May 5 and physically on May 26. The D Train will pull into theatres on May 8.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics