April 26, 2018 / 10:46 PM

Stay Connected

Animal Collective Shares 2004 Live Recording to Celebrate 10th Anniversary of 'Feels' [LISTEN]



Exactly one decade ago, Animal Collective dropped their sixth studio album, Feels. This week the experimental psych-pop band celebrates the album's 10th anniversary by sharing a full live recording from a 2004 gig at Cat's Cradle in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The live recording is available to stream or download via Animal Collective's Soundcloud.

The 80-minute set includes six of the nine tracks on Feels, including album highlights "Banshee Bat" and "The Purple Bottle." At the time of the recording, as Pitchfork  points out, "Animal Collective were touring in support of Feels predecessor, Sung Tongs, but as was their custom, their set included many songs from the as-yet-unreleased album." Other stand-out moments include a weird rendition of "Kids on Holiday." Stereogum reports that the band rocks-out the "entirety of their People EP," which is a real treat because fans didn't get to experience the sing-songy "Tikwid" for another two years when they released the 4-track EP, unless they happened to catch it live.

The 80-minute throwback set is the perfect way to commemorate Feels a decade and multiple other groundbreaking full-lengths, EPs, and other released recordings later. A few moments in one can't help but imagine themselves at an Animal Collective show in the early 2000s, right at the center of the pop-psych revival. Feels demonstrates some of the band's trippiest, most Brian Wilson-inspired moments, as well as a more stripped-down aesthetic with a more straightforward narrative voice than on earlier albums. The recording serves as a reminder of why Feels remains relevant a decade later. For fans awaiting Animal Collective's forthcoming album the band reportedly finished recording earlier this year, the 2004 live set is just enough to hold them over. Check out the show's setlist at the end of this article.

The 2004 Chapel Hill set is not the first live recording Animal Collective has released. As reported by Spin, the band recently put out Live at 9:30, a recording from the last night of a three-day run at the celebrated 9:30 club in Washington, D.C. in June 2013. The fact that Live at 9:30 was made available to fans as a limited hand-numbered triple LP boxset says it all: Animal Collective's live sets are just as integral to their body of work as their more polished studio recordings. You can grab Live at 9:30 via Animal Collective's website and stream "Did You See The Words" from that show below.

Animal Collective Live at Cat's Cradle 11/18/2004 Setlist:

01-- "Did You See the Words"
02-- "Loch Raven"
03-- "Kids on Holiday"
04-- "Banshee Beat"
05-- "Fickle Cycle / Grass"
06-- "Daffy Duck / My Favorite Colors"
07-- "People"
08-- "The Purple Bottle"
01-- "Tikwid"
02-- "Baby Day"

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics