June 22, 2018 / 3:22 AM

Stay Connected

Darkside's Dave Harrington Unveils Solo Group, New Album 'Become Alive'



One half of the celebrated electronic duo Darkside, Dave Harrington has announced the launch of his own solo group, the Dave Harrington Group. With it he is releasing his debut album Become Alive on Darkside's label home, Other People.

The group features a dozen of Harrington's closest friends that he enjoys working with such as fellow Darkside collaborator Nicolas Jaar. Though his discography is varied and complex, he has never released a solo album of his own and now felt like the time to do so.

"Ultimately, this album is very personal. This is my first LP with my name on it. It's me and a dozen of my favorite musicians and closest friends," Harrington explains. "That was the spirit of making this record... Bringing people together and playing, improvising, being present."

"This record is the result of improvising with different combinations of people, and then processing and re-sculpting those improvisations - isolating passages, turning them into something new, overdubbing layers of myself, maybe taking something from another piece and superimposing it out of its original context. But each track is always me interacting with other people, sometimes just one or two... sometimes ten," he writes in a statement. "There was flute, vibes, organ, fender rhodes, guitar, bass, two drummers, percussion, sax... just full-on, over-blown energy. I took all that and treated it as raw material in the mixing stage... But when you have ten people in a room, you can only edit so much. Everything is in every microphone anyway - it's all connected, so it's about turning it into whatever it wants to be."

Much of the writing and editing of the album was done during the height of Darkside's touring before their eventual breakup in 2014.

Listen to the title track "Become Alive" below that is a lengthy mixture of jazz and other electronic elements. Become Alive will be released on April 15.

Dave Harrington Become Alive Tracklist:

1. White Heat
2. Slides
3. The Prophet
4. Cities of the Red Night
5. Steels
6.Become Alive
7. Spectrum
8. All I Can Do

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics