June 22, 2018 / 1:47 AM

Stay Connected

M83 Releases 'Junk' Tracklist, Lead Single "Do It, Try It"



M83 did not waste any time releasing news on their new album Junk, which was officially announced this morning. Gonzalez unveiled the title and release date this morning and now we have the tracklist and lead single "Do It, Try It." The tracklist doesn't have many big names beyond Beck on track 13, "Time Wind," though Mai Lan is on four different tracks.

Gonzalez in an interview described the album as "very epic" and very different. The lead single is a taste of that with some of the classic 1970s and 1980s influences he drew on for this record evident with a its fast and furious synth melody and piano chords underneath that carry the track. Gonzalez switches his vocals back and forth between soft cooing and some vocoder effects.

The track comes with a trippy video with a little Yorkshire head signing the words with its tongue out. It is flying through space with a colorful streak of colors around it. 

Gonzalez has a really deep and somewhat depressing reason for choosing the simple title Junk. "Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time - beautiful too in a way," he explains "I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They're not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing." 

Junk will be M83's first album since their 2011 breakout LP Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Junk will be released on April 8 via Mute. Fans can pre-order the LP through their favorite portal like Amazon or iTunes here and get the lead single "Do It, Try It." See the full tracklist for Junk below.

M83 Junk Tracklist:

1. Do It, Try it
2. Go! Feat. Mai Lan
3. Walkway Blues feat. Jordan Lawlor
4. Bibi the Dog feat. Mai Lan
5. Moon Crystal
6. For the Kids feat. Susanne Sundfor
7. Solitude
8. The Wizard
9. Laser Gun feat. Mai Lan
10. Road Blaster
11. Tension
12. Atlantique Sud feat. Mai Lan
13. Time Wind feat. Beck
14. Ludvine
15. Sunday Night 1987

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More M83
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics