June 26, 2019 / 2:58 PM

Stay Connected

Watch, Download Twenty One Pilots, Mutemath Cover 5 Songs For Free EP



Over the past two years, Twenty One Pilots have been one of the revelations in music. Carving out a unique voice, the duo have dominated the charts and grown a very passionate fan base. They recently went on tour with Mutemath where the New Orleans rock group would join Twenty One Pilots frequently on stage. Now the two groups have teamed up to record a special free five-track cover EP of Twenty One Pilots songs.

The process was all recorded on tape, so fans can watch the bands work together on these joint covers. They take on the Suicide Squad Soundtrack hit "Heathens" and four tracks from Twenty One Pilots 2015 album Blurryface, "heavydirtysoul," "Ride, "Tear in My Heart" and "Lane Boy."

Tyler Joseph's voice is a constant throughout, though without as much vigor as one might here on one of the group's records or live. He tones it down to meet the strings and piano added by Mutemath, while Josh Dun keeps the rhythm moving along on the drums. Mutemath also join in to help sing some of the hooks and add a different dimension to the collaboration.

Each of the songs have a fuller, more organic sound with the strings, keyboards and piano sound, which is different from what you will hear from Twenty One Pilots on their own. It isn't necessarily better or worse, just a change of pace for those who have hit replay on these songs hundreds of times.

The video is fun to see how these guys work together on this and best of all the entire five-track EP is available to download for free as a little gift for the holidays.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics