June 19, 2018 / 8:05 PM

Stay Connected

Newsboys Releasing Their Third Worship Project



(Photo : Capitol Christian Music Group)
Newsboys - Hallelujah for the Cross
In 2003, Newsboys surprised fans with a worship album called Adoration. The project went Gold on June 21, 2004. The following year, they released Devotion (November 2, 2004). Critics wondered if this was the new sound for the popular band going forward. 2005 left everyone wondering as Sparrow Records released three Newsboys albums - two special editions and one collection. When the band reemerged with Inpop in 2006, they went back to their pop roots, causing one music reviewer to say, "Hallelujah, the Newsboys are back!"

In the 11 years since Adoration, there has been a lot going on with the band and a lot more great music. Peter Furler stepped down and Michael Tait replaced him as lead singer and the band has continued to release hits and tour like crazy. In November, they will release the third worship project in their long history. Hallelujah for the Cross will hit stores on November 4, 2014 with 10 classic hymns delivered with the Newsboys' sound we have come to know and love. The title track and lead single is due to go to radio in late September.

In a press release, Michael Tait talked about the new project, saying, "Growing up in the church, hymns were an essential component of traditional worship. For as long as we can recall, we have loved the very essence of hymns. The writers of many of these majestic pieces wrote them during very painful, trying times of distress but Redeemed places. To this day, the hymns of old still move us like nothing else, and by having the opportunity to bring focus back to them today in a modern style, we hope that they shall never die."

The lead single and title track is set to go to radio in late September and the band is planning a full spring tour in 2015.

Hallelujah for the Cross Track Listing:

  1. Hallelujah For The Cross
  2. Jesus Paid It All
  3. I Surrender All
  4. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  5. Eye on the Sparrow
  6. Where You Belong/Turn Your Eyes
  7. Holy Holy Holy
  8. It Is Well
  9. All Hail The Power Of Jesus Name
  10. All Creatures Of Our God And King

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More Newsboys
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics