January 18, 2018 / 8:49 PM

Stay Connected

'All is Lost' Sountrack, scored by Alexander Ebert of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, released today

by Caitlin Carter   Oct 1, 2013 10:41 AM EDT

The Soundtrack for Robert Redford's new film, All Is Lost, scored by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zero's frontman Alexander Ebert, was released today.

The soundtrack features 10 original compositions and a new song with lyrics called, "Amen." All tracks were written, composed and produced by Ebert. It was his first time scoring a film and is his first solo release since 2011's Alexander.

There is no dialogue throughout the film, so the music had to play an important role.

"The biggest challenge was walking that fine line between truth and melodrama," Ebert said in a statement. "You don't want to undershoot it and you don't want to overshoot it. You want to nail the emotion precisely. Anything else is not doing it justice."

The story behind the soundtrack follows an unnamed man whose sailboat collides with a shipping container and is destroyed at sea in the Indian Ocean. He battles for survival in the open water but ultimately must face his own mortality. The hour-and-forty-minute film was written and directed by J.C. Candor and stars Redford as the sole character. It is due out Oct. 18 via Lionsgate/Roadside.

Check out the trailer for the film and the new song "Amen" here, and let us know what you think in the comments section below!

Real Time Analytics