Apr 23, 2014 | Last Updated: 19:44 PM EDT

Latest News, Analysis, Opinions and Charts from Music

Featured Stories

  • Incan Abraham: Teddy Cafaro, Spencer Mandel, Giuliano Pizzulo, Andrew Clinco
    In The Indie Apr 03, 2014 EDT

    Incan Abraham Talks West Coast Stereotypes, Peruvian Soda and Debut Album, 'Tolerance'

    It's no longer freezing in New York after months of snow and gloomy weather. Could the members of Incan Abraham have brought some Los Angeles warmth with them? As they sit on a bench outside of The Brooklyn Bowl, they speak of their upcoming album, Tolerance, as a "tombstone" of sorts. It's the band's debut LP, but they describe it as quite literally a record of the years they've worked leading up to this point.

  • 'Honest' by Future
    In The Hip Hop/R&B Apr 22, 2014 EDT

    Junk Mail: Future's 'Honest' Album Review...Performed Via Email

    Music Times writers share an office area of roughly 45 sq. ft, which makes having face-to-face conversations totally impossible. Junk Mail is these millenials' attempt to discuss and review the week's hottest album releases... without needing to look at each other.

  • John Darnielle of The Mountain Goats
    In The Rock Apr 23, 2014 EDT

    5 Artists Whose Lyrics Are Better Than Their Music

    When talking about his songwriting, Kurt Cobain was once said “music comes first and lyrics come second.” Most songwriters and music fans place the importance of a song’s music over its lyrical content, but there are some singers whose lyrics are actually the best parts of their songs. Here are five artists whose lyrics are better than their music.


  • WATCH: Showdown: Natalie Stovall & The Drive vs. Aerosmith

  • Phil Wickham Hits the Road [FULL SCHEDULE]

  • 7 Great Songs with Spoken Word Lyrics

  • Lee Brice May Not Dance, But He Makes You Want To! [WATCH]

  • Frozen Sells Most Copies Yet, Topping Billboard 200 for 11th Week

  • 7 Classic Albums That Are Way Too Long

  • Emerson String Quartet Performs Shostakovich and Britten at Alice Tully Hall for Lincoln Center's Great Performer Series

  • The Column: Ralph Vaughn Williams' 'The Lark Ascending Wins' Again, But Why?

  • Welsh Soprano Superstar Katherine Jenkins OBE Engaged to Long-Time Secret Director Beau Andrew Levitas, Fans Had No Clue!

  • After 10 Weeks in the Hospital, Kevin Sharp Dies at Home

  • Word Entertainment Grows to Offer a Lot More Than Music

  • 6 Artists Whose Sound Doesn't Match The Place They Came From

  • REVIEW: Courtney Love Demands Attention on 'You Know My Name'

  • Lily Allen mentions Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Lorde and Rihanna in new track 'Sheezus'

  • Barack Obama Pays Tribute to Frankie Knuckles In Letter to Late DJ's Family

  • John Schlitt's "Live Out Loud" Goes to Radio

  • Under The Influence Of Music Tour 2014 Lineup, Tour Dates Revealed

  • Nicki Minaj Goes Back to Basics, Returns to Rap on Forthcoming Album

  • Six Lead Vocalists Who Don't Write Their Own Lyrics

  • Listen To The Super Loud 'Muppet Show Theme Song' Shy Kidx Remix

  • "I'm Doing Hedwig Up Here, ­Motherf–ker!" or Fan Gives Neil Patrick Harris the Fourth-Wall Broadway Blues

  • Pop Stars on Broadway: Hits and Misses with Ricky Martin, Carly Rae Jepsen, Nick Jonas, Cyndi Lauper, Sara Bareilles, Etc.

  • Red Rocks Amphitheater Noise Levels Bother Nearby Residents

  • Watch: Avril Lavigne is Awful in 'Hello Kitty'

    Stories by Genres

    Ongoing Polls

    Music Times With Camplified Contest Submission

    More Articles

    In The Rock Apr 22, 2014 EDT

    Kings Of Leon Announce Fall North American Tour

    Kings Of Leon may have just wrapped up one leg of its Mechanical Bull Tour on April 11, but the "Temple" rockers are already planning ahead. Yesterday (April 21), KOL announced an extensive international tour for this summer and fall, including over 30 dates in North America following its headlining set at Lollapalooza this August.Read more »

    In The Pop Apr 22, 2014 EDT

    Lorde Postpones Australian Tour

    Lorde's health is forcing the 17-year-old to take a little break from dominating the music scene and postpone her upcoming Australian tour. Yesterday (April 21), the "Team" singer announced that because of a chest infection, she'll have to return to her home country of New Zealand and recover as soon as possible.Read more »

    In The Pop Apr 22, 2014 EDT

    Austin City Limits Releases Lineup

    Austin City Limits, the last of the American mega festivals to release its lineup for the 2014 season, has finally dropped its lineup for both weekends of the event, which will go down between October 3 and 5, plus between October 10 and 12.Read more »

    In The Hip Hop/R&B Apr 22, 2014 EDT

    Chris Brown Trial Postponed

    Chris Brown's D.C. assault trial has been postponed.Read more »

    In The Pop Apr 21, 2014 EDT

    iHeartRadio Music Awards Announce Performance Lineup

    When the radio juggernaut that is iHeartRadio does an awards show, it does it big. After enlisting musical juggernauts like Justin Timberlake, Rihanna and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis as nominees for its inaugural show, today (April 21), iHeartRadio announced its lineup of performers, and it's pretty big.Read more »

    In The Pop Apr 21, 2014 EDT

    Little Mix Announces Salute Tour Dates

    Last month, rising girl group Little Mix teased its first-ever headlining North American tour with a paltry three dates. But now, the Salute Tour has come to full fruition. Today (April 21), Little Mix announced 16 tour dates for fall 2014.Read more »

    Real Time Analytics