Jan 30, 2015 | Last Updated: 01:16 AM EST

Latest News, Analysis, Opinions and Charts from Music

SectionsReviews

Home > Reviews

Ne-Yo

Junk Mail: Ne-Yo 'Non-Fiction' Album Review

Reviews Jan 2015 16:45PM EDT

Does Ne-Yo's new album "Non-Fiction" live up to the grand story he's trying to tell?READ MORE

Fifth Harmony at People's Choice Awards 2015 Red Carpet

Fifth Harmony "Like Mariah" Review: Mariah Carey "Always Be My Baby" Sample & Tyga Help Along Auto-Tuned New Single [LISTEN]

Reviews Jan 2015 10:36AM EDT

Fifth Harmony are all about paying tribute to the major women players in the industry. First off its new album Reflection, 5H name checked Michelle Obama and Oprah Winfrey in "BO$$." Now, in the former X Factor group's new song, it's all about Mariah Carey. Today (Jan. 28), Fifth Harmony released its latest single, the Tyga-featuring "Like Mariah," which samples the 1995 classic "Always Be My Baby."READ MORE

Imagine Dragons at the 2014 AMAs

Imagine Dragons "Shots" Review: New Song from 'Smoke + Mirrors' Brings in '80s Synth, Self Loathing [LISTEN]

Reviews Jan 2015 10:04AM EDT

Imagine Dragons's new album Smoke + Mirrors is just three weeks away, and the "I Bet My Life" band is continuing to roll out some of its new music. Today (Jan. 27), Imagine Dragons dropped its latest single from its upcoming LP, "Shots."READ MORE

Paul McCartney & Kanye West

Kanye West, Paul McCartney & Rihanna "FourFiveSecond" Gets Funky, Horn-Filled Remix From Lido [REVIEW]

Reviews Jan 2015 09:57AM EDT

Kanye West pulled another shocker when he released his latest collaboration alongside Paul McCartney titled "FourFiveSeconds," calling upon the vocal talents of Rihanna to assist with the chorus. The acoustic, relaxed original was a eye-brow raiser to Rihanna fans who have been waiting for their queen to deliver more dance-pop hits, but it made perfect sense coming from the minds of Kanye West and Paul McCartney. A track as open and inviting as "FourFiveSeconds" was begging for a remix and it gone one from Norwegian producer Lido, who has become famous online for his work with Cashmere Cat and sensual soulful r&b influenced electronic remixes of songs.READ MORE

Hardwell United We Are Album Cover

Hardwell Releases Debut Album 'United We Are' Featuring Jason Derulo, Mr Probz, Tiësto & Others [LISTEN]

Buzz Jan 2015 18:35PM EDT

Dutch superstar DJ Hardwell has released his debut album United We Are. Known for his anthemic singles and explosive live sets, Robbert van de Corput, has taken the risk of releasing a full-length LP. The album has features and collaborations alongside the likes of Mr. Probz, Tiësto, Jason Derulo, W&W and others. The variation in artists lends itself to the assortment of different genres contained within the 14-track LP.READ MORE

'Mind Games' by Palisades

Back of The Billboards: 'Mind Games' by Palisades

Buzz Jan 2015 13:03PM EDT

Society always celebrates the records that top the Billboard 200 album chart. Back of The Billboards is a Music Times weekly segment that looks at the opposite end: the new record that finished closest to the back of the Billboard 200 for the previous week. We hope to give a fighting chance to the bands you haven't heard of. This week we look at Palisades' new album 'Mind Games' and its aim to combine hardcore with just about every mainstream genre: pop punk, EDM and hip-hop.READ MORE

Fall Out Boy,

Junk Mail: Fall Out Boy 'American Beauty/American Psycho' Album Review

Reviews Jan 2015 17:48PM EDT

AB/AP was an ambitious effort that showed the band experimenting with new ways construct a song. Overall, it maintained the sound I expected from the band. There were details and choices they made that I found interesting, but I don't think it's an album I'll end up revisiting. That said, I think Fall Out Boy fans will be happy with this effort.READ MORE

Fifth Harmony at the Nickelodeon HALO Awards

REVIEW: Fifth Harmony Prove They're "Worth It" in New Single Ahead of 'Reflection' Release Date [LISTEN]

Reviews Jan 2015 10:16AM EDT

Fifth Harmony first declared that they were the dominant girls in their sizzling summer hit "BO$," then they got tender in their second new song "Sledgehammer" and now, once again the girl group has gone back to proving their sass. Today (Jan. 20) ahead of the release of their long-anticipated debut album Reflection, 5H has released a new single "Worth It."READ MORE

'Burning Bridges' by Ludacris

Ludacris Comes Angry, Stays Polished on 'Burning Bridges'; EP Features Rick Ross, Jason Aldean, John Legend Guest Spots

Buzz Jan 2015 11:43AM EDT

Society always celebrates the records that top the Billboard 200 album chart. Back of The Billboards is a Music Times weekly segment that looks at the opposite end: the new record that finished closest to the back of the Billboard 200 for the previous week. We hope to give a fighting chance to the bands you haven't heard of. This week we look at Ludacris' new EP 'Burning Bridges' and its lead-up to a new album during 2015, 'Ludaversal.'READ MORE

Mark Ronson - 'Uptown Special' (2015)

Junk Mail: Mark Ronson 'Uptown Special' Album Review

Reviews Jan 2015 18:12PM EDT

If we were Mark Ronson, I would have made the below adjustments to the track list: 01. “Feel Right” 02. “Uptown Funk” 03. “I Can’t Lose” (ONLY the first minute) 04. “Uptown Funk” 05. "Daffodils” 06. “Uptown Funk" 07. “In Case of Fire” 08. “Uptown Funk" 09. “Leaving Los Feliz” 10. “Uptown Funk” 11. “Uptown FunkREAD MORE

Ciara performs at Vogue Fashion Dubai Experience

REVIEW: Ciara Gets Personal About Future Break Up on Stunning New Single "I Bet" [LISTEN]

Reviews Jan 2015 12:30PM EDT

Ciara is back on the music making scene, and she's spilling out her heartache in a stunning new R&B single. Today (Jan. 14), the "Body Party" singer released the break-up and move on anthem "I Bet," and one can't help but think of her recent break up with rapper Future.READ MORE

Fall Out Boy perform at the 2015 People's Choice Awards

Fall Out Boy "Uma Thurman" Review: New Song from 'American Beauty/American Psycho' Gets Funky with Help from 'The Munsters'

Reviews Jan 2015 12:52PM EDT

Things are about to get a little too spooky on the new single from Fall Out Boy. Today (Jan. 12), the Chicago rockers paid tribute to a few pop culture icons in its song "Uma Thurman." Not only does the track call back to the Kill Bill actress but there's also a heavy groove from the classic The Munsters theme song.READ MORE

Zac Brown Band perform during iHeartRadio Music Festival 2014

LISTEN: Zac Brown Band Get "Homegrown" on New Single Ahead of ESPN Tailgate Gig

Reviews Jan 2015 11:28AM EDT

There's something about being a hometown hero, and the Zac Brown Band has got that territory covered. Tonight (Jan. 12), the country band is set to debut its new single "Homegrown" on the ESPN College Champion Tailgate for the Ohio State/Oregon football game, but the studio version of the track is available online for fans of being homegrown and ZBB already.READ MORE

Armin van Buuren Pier 94 12/29/14

Armin van Buuren Leaves Pier 94 In A Trance [Review]

Reviews Jan 2015 15:23PM EDT

The week between Christmas and New Years Day is one of the biggest party weeks of the year. Most people are off of work, or those who do have to work, things are pretty relaxed and expectations aren't as high for productivity. In that type of environment, Pacha and RPM Presents have been throwing parties all week at the club and on Pier 94 and Pier 36 in New York City with the likes of Armin van Buuren, Kaskade, Disclosure and Martin Garrix all coming to town. Last night saw trance titan, Armin van Buuren, known to fans as the god of trance, in part because of his stature within the genre and because his birthday is on Dec. 25, take the stage at Pier 94 with A State Of Trance regulars Andrew Rayel, Mark Sixma and Jochen Miller.READ MORE

'The Best of Joe Cocker: 20th Century Masters The Millennium Collection'

Back of The Billboards: 'The Best of Joe Cocker: 20th Century Masters The Millennium Collection'

Buzz Jan 2015 12:24PM EDT

Society always celebrates the records that top the Billboard 200 album chart. Back of The Billboards is a Music Times weekly segment that looks at the opposite end: the new record that finished closest to the back of the Billboard 200 for the previous week. We hope to give a fighting chance to the bands you haven't heard of. This week we look at Joe Cocker's chapter in 'The Millennium Collection' best-of series, popularized by his unfortunate recent death.READ MORE

Celeb Guest Bloggers

Real Time Analytics