January 20, 2018 / 8:20 AM

Stay Connected

M.I.A., Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler, the Creator Added To 2013 YouTube Music Awards

by Caitlin Carter   Oct 22, 2013 11:38 AM EDT

M.I.A., Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler, the Creator have been added to the lineup for the inaugural YouTube Music Awards along with Eminem, Lady Gaga, and Arcade Fire. The 90-minute show will air live from New York City's Pier 36 on Nov. 3.

Actor Jason Schwartzman will host the event with co-host Reggie Watts, and Spike Jonze, who directed Being John Malkovich, Where the Wild Things Are and music videos for Beastie Boys and Weezer, will be the show's creative director. The show will feature six award category winners to be announced this month, which will be based on votes from viewers. Categories include Video of the Year, Artist of the Year, YouTube Phenomenon of the Year, Innovation of the Year, Response of the Year and this year's Break Through.

According to Rolling Stone, prior to the event, YouTube will steam performances and collaborations from Moscow, London, Rio de Janeiro and Seoul.

The nominees were announced last week and include artists such as Nicki Minaj, Katy Perry, One Direction, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Taylor Swift, Atoms for Peace, Toro Y Moi, Bat for Lashes, Kendrick Lamar, Naughty Boy and Passenger. Psy's "Gangnam Style" and Baauer's "Harlem Shake" also received nods in the YouTube Phenomenon category.

View the full list of nominees here, and vote on various social media platforms.

Real Time Analytics