November 23, 2017 / 2:27 AM

Stay Connected

Angel Olsen's 'Burn Your Fire for No Witness' out February: Sneak peek with new song 'Forgiven/Forgotten'

by Angelica Catalano   Nov 14, 2013 13:07 PM EST

Close
Rock and roll legend Fats Domino dies

If you first heard Angel Olsen's full-length Halfway Home last year, it's probably still haunting you in the best way possible. Olsen warms up with honest lyrics that tremble out of her -- then holds back with a cooler, controlled voice. It's a trademark style as distinct as Joni Mitchell's voice.

Olsen has just announced a new album due out February 18th, 2014, Burn Your Fire for No Witness. It will be under the indie rock label Jagjaguwar. A sneak peek at one of the new 11 songs, "Forgiven/Forgotten" already shows that she is going for more rock than her previous softer, folk songs. It has that vintage, distorted-guitar vibe you got a taste of in Halfway Home's "Sweet Dreams."

John Congleton produced the new album, who has worked with artists from Marilyn Manson to The Roots, and is founding member of The Paper Chase. With the addition of Congleton, her "music now crackles with a churning, rumbling low end and a brighter energy," according to the press release. You can expect to hear her sing "with full-throated exultation, admonition, and bold, expressive melody."

Have a listen to the "Forgiven/Forgotten" video and see if Olsen's playing near you in her tour from November 29th to March 10th. You can pre-order the album here.

Angel Olsen's Tour Dates

Fri. Nov. 29 - Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbits

Sat. Nov. 30 - Orlando, FL @ Will's Pub

Tue. Dec. 3 - Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder at FSU

Wed. Dec. 4 - New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar

Thu. Dec. 5 - Oxford, MS @ Lamar Lounge

Thu. Dec. 12 - London, UK @ The Forum w/ Neko Case

Tue. Feb. 18 - Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern

Thu. Feb. 20 - New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge

Sat. Feb. 22 - Nashville, TN @ The Stone Fox

Sun. Feb. 23 - Fayetteville, AR @ JR's Lightbulb Club

Mon. Feb. 24 - Dallas, TX @ Three Links

Tue. Feb. 25 - Austin, TX @ Red 7

Sat. March 1 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

Sun. March 2 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex

Mon. March 3 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

Wed. March 5 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios

Thu. March 6 - Vancouver, BC @ Media Club

Fri. March 7 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza

Sat. March 8 - Moscow, ID @ Mikey's Gyros

Mon. March 10 - Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge

Real Time Analytics