February 23, 2018 / 6:47 PM

Stay Connected

Pharrell Williams' new album 'G I R L' features Daft Punk, Justin Timberlake, Miley Cyrus, Alicia Keys and Hans Zimmer [TRACKLIST]


Earlier this week, Pharrell announced his first solo album in eight years, G I R L, due out March 3. Last night, he hosted a listening party for members of the UK media. According to reports from the event, the new effort is stacked with big-name guests, including Oscar-winning composer Hans Zimmer, who scored the album's string section, according to Vice.

Returning the favor for Williams' work on "Get Lucky," Daft Punk appears on the track "Gust of Wind." The Line of Best Fit described the song saying:

"'Gust of Wind' is Pharrell's 'personal favourite' song on G I R L, and he likes it so much that he plays it twice, excitedly jumping back to the start before the first play-through has even finished. He tells us that this one features 'the robots,' and that the punchy offbeat guitar comes from a young Canadian prodigy called Francesco Yates. It begins with zigzagging strings, and then that unmistakeable vocoder voice wraps itself around the climbing bassline and pumps mightily, nigh-on unintelligibly through the chorus. 'Mothership Other cannot go away' sings Skateboard P, repping his new iamOther creative collective. By this point, it becomes apparent that the narrative personae that Pharrell embodies on these songs are somehow more Romantic than the libidinous paramours of previous outings, and they are all the sexier and more endearing for it."

Justin Timberlake also makes an appearance on the record for the track "Brand New." The Line of Best Fit describes the song as, "pure Off The Wall Michael Jackson at the peak of his disco funk powers, with its carnal exhalations, falsetto harmonies and plucked bass notes that dance all over the fretboard before being carried away on rising horns and strings."

Next on the guest list is Miley Cyrus, who assists on "Come Get It." The Line of Best Fit says the track has a "dance-rock vibe" and describes Miley's backing vocals as "ably lustful."

Lastly, Alicia Keys adds her vocals to the penultimate track "You Know Who You Are." According to The Line of Best Fit, Williams refers to this song as his "soldiers' hymn."

Check out the tracklist and watch the video for the lead single, "Happy," below. Let us know what you think in the comments section.

G I R L Tracklist:
01. Marilyn Monroe
02. Brand New feat. Justin Timberlake
03. Hunter
04. Gush
05. Happy
06. Come Get It feat. Miley Cyrus
07. Gust of Wind feat. Daft Punk
08. Lost Queen
09. FREQ
10. You Know Who You Are feat. Alicia Keys
11. It Girl

Real Time Analytics