July 15, 2018 / 7:07 PM

Stay Connected

'Guardians of the Galaxy' Soundtrack to Get Deluxe Vinyl Makeover [TRACKLIST]



The soundtrack for the summer blockbuster Guardians of the Galaxy was a surprise hit after it climbed the charts with a roster of all previously released material from the era of vinyl LPs. It's no wonder then that the album is getting the royal treatment with a special deluxe vinyl edition from poster company MONDO, Superherohype reports.

Awesome Mix Vol. 1 will be re-released in 2015 through the company on purple vinyl with specialty artwork by Tyler Stout, the artist who has been churning out Marvel-related sketches MONDO since Iron Man hit the silver screen. The new vinyl will cost $50, and is available to be pre-ordered.

Hits like "Hooked on a Feeling" by Blue Swede, "Spirit in the Sky" by Norman Greenbaum and "I Want You Back" by The Jackson 5 propelled the soundtrack to number one on the Billboard 200, and the record was certified gold just last week after selling 500,000 copies since its July release.

Composer Tyler Bates (300, Watchmen) spoke with We Are Movie Geeks about the film's soundtrack. "The music is literally a different personality in the movie, has a different function than the songs," Bates said "It exists more, not only to be propulsive in the action sequences and to set up some of the comedic moments, but really to underscore the emotional depth of the characters. They've all survived some terrible tragedy in their life and they try to supress the rawness of those emotions in the scope of who they try to be."

Check out the full tracklist below.

Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 Tracklisting:
01. Hooked on a Feeling – Blue Swede
02. Go All the Way – Raspberries
03. Spirit in the Sky – Norman Greenbaum
04. Moonage Daydream – David Bowie
05. Fooled Around and Fell in Love – Elvin Bishop
06. I Want You Back – The Jackson 5
07. I’m Not in Love – 10cc
08. Come and Get Your Love – Redbone
09. Cherry Bomb – The Runaways
10. Escape (The Piña Colada Song) – Rupert Holmes
11. O-O-H Child – The Five Stairsteps
12. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics