May 27, 2018 / 1:41 PM

Stay Connected

Jake Bugg Debuts Two New Songs, 'Looking Down The Alley' And 'Hold On You,' At UK Show [SETLIST]



We don't have video evidence yet, but rest assured that one of Britain's most prolific young songwriters is already trying out new tunes in front of an audience

Jake Bugg has released two albums and three EPs in the past two years, and the 20-year-old just debuted two new tracks in Wolverhampton, according to NME.

Introducing "Looking Down The Alley" as "a new song [he'd] been working on," Bugg played the acoustic track without accompaniment from his two-piece backing band.

The tune features lyrics about "growing up" and "burning like the brightest stars."

"Hold On You" was performed with an additional guitarist and drummer and took "a more bluesy angle based predominantly around two chords," (NME).

Here's the setlist:

  1. 'Messed Up Kids'
  2. 'Seen It All'
  3. 'Storm Passes Away'
  4. 'Two Fingers'
  5. 'Me And You'
  6. 'Trouble Town'
  7. 'There's A Beast And We All Feed It'
  8. 'Ballad Of Mr Jones'
  9. 'Looking Down The Alley'
  10. 'Country Song'
  11. 'Song About Love'
  12. 'Hold On You'
  13. 'Slide'
  14. 'Simple Pleasures'
  15. 'Taste It'
  16. 'Slumville Sunrise'
  17. 'Green Man'
  18. 'What Doesn't Kill You'
  19. 'Broken'
  20. 'Lightning Bolt'

Bugg was recently in the news for a wacky tale about "American Pie" singer Don McLean.

"When I was young there was a place on his website where you used to be able to leave little messages on email," Bugg told MTV. "It would say, 'Don can't reply to anything.' Six months ago the guy who ran the website, who's British, got in touch and said, 'just been cleaning out inbox and found your message from five years ago' and gave me his (Don's) number.

"He called me and woke me up. He spoke for about 40 minutes. I spoke for about one minute. He was giving me this advice like, 'don't get married.' It was pretty crazy."

Bugg also said that the follow-up to last year's Shangri-La could take "five months or five years" to complete.

"It's just demos," he said. "It's an experiment — see what happens. Just trying to make it write itself. It could take five years, it could take five months."

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More Jake Bugg
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics