July 18, 2018 / 2:43 AM

Stay Connected

Joanna Newsom New Album 'Divers' Gets Release Date, Tracklist, Single 'Sapokanikan'



Joanna Newsom recently released details related to her new album Divers. Set to drop Oct. 23 via Drag City, the multitalented singer-songwriter and harpist also debuted her first single from her new album titled "Sapokanikan" and its corresponding music video which was directed by Paul Thomas Anderson.

A cinematic portraiture of a city in a way, Newsom's latest video is intimate and charming, following the West Coast native through the streets of New York City featuring blurred city lights and occasional passersby. Overall, the setting of the video is the perfect backdrop to the track's earnest lyricism and flawless instrumentation.

Newsom's vocals, as usual, are mesmerizing, bringing to life collective yet discernibly personal narrative. A definite storyteller, her follow up to 2010's Have One On Me will undoubtedly be well received by fans and critics alike. Her fourth studio album meets listeners "further along and down the road apiece from where she took her leave of us," according to her label. Defining Divers as a "new world," Drag City seems to suggest that the performer's latest work is more of a reiteration or a thematic continuation rather than a dramatic departure from prior material.

Recorded by Steve Albini and mixed by Noah Geogeson, the LP will also feature arrangements by Nico Muhly, Ryan Francesconi, and Dave Longstreth of The Dirty Projectors. The album will also feature 11 tracks, Pitchfork reports.

Divers tracklist:

01. Anecdote
02. Sapokanikan
03. Leaving the City
04. Goose Eggs
05. Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
06. The Things I Say
07. Divers
08. Same Old Man
09. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As a Symptom

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More Joanna Newsom
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics