June 19, 2018 / 4:17 PM

Stay Connected

Mavis Staples' Album Features Bon Iver, Valerie June, tUnE-yArds



Mavis Staples on Thursday announced the release of her latest LP, Livin' On A High Note, which is set to feature a slew of killer artists including Benjamin Booker, The Head & The Heart, tUnE-yArds, Valerie June, Aloe Blacc, Jon Batiste, Justin Vernon aka Bon Iver, Neko Case, Nick Cave and M. Ward, who also produced the album.

The announcement came with the release of the first single "High Note," which was written by June, according to Pitchfork.

Staples said in a statement she hopes this album will be more uplifting than her previous albums that have focused on some depressing times in history as she continues her mission of civil rights. That change in tone is evident on the new song, which features a much bluesier guitar opening backed by her soulful vocals about living life in the high times.

"I've been singing my freedom songs and I wanted to stretch out and sing some songs that were new," she said in a statement. "I told the writers I was looking for some joyful songs. I want to leave something to lift people up; I'm so busy making people cry, not from sadness, but I'm always telling a part of history that brought us down and I'm trying to bring us back up."

The album is set for release on Feb. 19 via Anti- Records. Listen to the single below and check out the full track list.

Track List

01 Take Us Back, feat. Benjamin Booker
02 Love and Trust, feat. Ben Harper
03 If It's a Light, feat. The Head & the Heart
04 Action, feat. tUnE-yArds
05 High Note, feat. Valerie June
06 Don't Cry, feat. M. Ward
07 Tomorrow, feat. Aloe Blacc/John Batiste
08 Dedicated, feat. Justin Vernon/M.Ward
09 History Now, feat. Neko Case
10 One Love, feat. Son Little
11 Jesus Lay Down Beside Me, feat. Nick Cave
12 MLK Song, feat. M. Ward / Martin Luther King

Staples is also the subject of a documentary, Mavis!, coming out on HBO on Feb. 29. Watch the trailer below.

Mavis! - Documentary Trailer from Film First on Vimeo.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics