Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced that the follow-up record to 2011's I'm With You will be The Getaway, with a release date set for June 17, 2016. To help spread the word, the band premiered a brand new song, "Dark Necessities," which you can listen to right here.

The Peppers' usual producer, Rick Ruben, did not work on the record, which is the first time this has happened since 1989's Mother's Milk. You can hear the difference in the first single.

Listen to "Dark Necessities" right here (via Consequence of Sound / YouTube):

Danger Mouse served as a producer on this new record, with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich taking on mixing duties for the 13-track effort.

Oddly enough, looking at the tracklist, I see no mention of California, which is odd for a band that writes every single song about their home state. I mean, there's even a song called "Detroit," which just throws a whole lot of confusion into my brain.

The first single from the record is long and full of piano, but is clearly a Chili Peppers song. If you're a fan of the band, this is a fun evolution of their sound. If you aren't a fan, well, you'll be hearing their songs forever, so don't get too mad.

The Getaway tracklist:
01. The Getaway
02. Dark Necessities
03. We Turn Red
04. The Longest Wave
05. Goodbye Angels
06. Sick Love
07. Go Robot
08. Feasting on the Flowers
09. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai