June 25, 2018 / 2:20 AM

Stay Connected

Tove Lo Unleashes Music Video for "Cool Girl" Ahead of 'Lady Wood' Album Release



Tove Lo has unleashed her new music video for “Cool Girl” ahead of her Lady Wood album, slated for release on Oct. 28 via Island Records. The single and music video dropped as a precursor to her 6-week North American tour with Maroon 5.

Shot by Swedish director Tim Erem, the new music video shows Lo as artistically troubled as ever, shaving her head in a hotel room and bouncing seductively on top of a car, as well as writhing on top of a glass enclosure in the desert. She smears mud over the glass as she stares down at herself, provocative, prying eyes burning into the camera.

Erem has collaborated with the pop star before and was behind her music video for “Moments” as well as the video for her duet with Nick Jonas “Close.” The video was filmed on location in L.A.

Her new album Lady Wood is set to follow the pattern of her smash debut Queen of the Clouds, released in 2014. Queen of the Clouds was divided into three chapters intimately showcasing the inner workings of Lo’s life, these being "The Love," "The Sex," and “The Pain.”

By contrast Lady Wood will be divided into two chapters, including “Fairy Dust” and “Fire Fade.” In a press release, the pop star described these as “the emotional curves I go through when I’m chasing any kind of rush.”

According to Island Records, "Fairy Dust" is meant to depict anticipation, described by the artist as “when the adrenaline starts to kick in. It gives you butterflies. It’s that tingling sensation of sex.” She claims that "Fire Fade" shows the moments where the initial thrill begins to wear off, when “you feel a bit uneasy. And you really want to chase that first feeling again.”

Check out the track list for Lady Wood and watch the music video below:

1. “Fairy Dust” (Chapter I)
2. “Influence”
3. “Lady Wood”
4. “True Disaster”
5. “cool girl”
6. “Vibes”
7. “Fire Fade” (Chapter II)
8. “Don’t Talk About It”
9. “Imaginary Friend”
10. “Keep It Simple”
11. “Flashes”
12. “WTF Love Is”

[WARNING: Video Below May Contain Explicit Language]

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More Tove Lo
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics