January 23, 2019 / 8:18 PM

Stay Connected

Pearl Jam Eyeing 2019 Release Date For New Album



Pearl Jam member Jeff Ament hints at the band's new album. However, the bassist said that the release date for the compilation would be 2019.

During a recent interview, Ament said that Pearl Jam typically needs six to eight weeks to carve out new songs. During this time, the members of the band also record new songs. Unfortunately, Pearl Jam will not be able to work in the studio until after it finishes its summer tour.

"The one thing we have working against us is the upcoming tour, the other thing we have working against us is it takes three or four months to do a vinyl version of any record. 2019 is probably safe to say..." said Ament.

Jeff Ament's Third Solo EP 'Heaven/Hell'

While fans of Pearl Jam are waiting for the band's forthcoming album, Ament announced last month that he would be releasing his third solo EP called Heaven/Hell. The bassist also dropped one of the songs from the compilation called "Safe in the Car." The track serves as his collaboration with indie singer Angel Olsen.

During his recent interview with Rolling Stone, Ament also shared how the music video for "Safe in the Car" came to life.

"The directors asked me what I wanted the video to look like and the first thing that came to mind was Grindhouse. I always loved the super high-contrast, dark look of that. It's the world coming to an end and trying to have a sense of humor about it," said Ament.

The bassist added that his third LP came together almost as an accident. He said that he normally writes songs and gives it to Pearl Jam to see if they could sing it together. However, for Heaven/Hell, Ament wrote songs that felt too personal for him, and he did not want Eddie Vedder to sing them. As a result, the tracks ended up in his album.

Ament released  Heaven/Hell on May 10, and it serves as a follow-up to his 2012 LP While My Heart Beats.

Who Is Pearl Jam?

Pearl Jam is an American rock band formed in Seattle, Washington in 1990. The band is made up of vocalist Vedder, lead guitarist Mike McCready, bassist Ament, guitarist Stone Gossard, and drummer Matt Cameron.

Some of Pearl Jam's songs are "Black," "Jeremy," "Even Flow," "Alive," "Better Man," "Just Breathe," "Yellow Ledbetter," "Given to Fly," "Do the Evolution," "I Am Mine," and "Last Kiss."

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics