In a Q&A session on Facebook recently, former Oasis guitarist/vocalist Noel Gallagher announced that a new album from his High Flying Birds band is on the way.

Chasing Yesterday will be Gallagher's second post-Oasis studio release, following 2011's Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, Consequence of Sound reports. According to a press release, the album is "a much broader array of instrumentation than ever before," making the finished product a "rich, expansive and multi-layered record, drawing from a range of disparate influences - from west coast rock to classic rock 'n' roll and even some space jazz (!)." The release date is set for March 2. 

Gallagher went on to talk about putting the 10-track album together. "It was a major pain in the arse," he said. "It's not that I've ever had people telling me what to write or what direction to go in, but managing sessions from one end of the week to the other proved extremely difficult. I had all these people looking at me and saying: 'right, what are we doing today?' I was making the whole thing up as I went along."

The singer shared the tight lead single from the album, "In the Heat of the Moment" (listen below). Chasing Yesterday's second single, Gallagher revealed, will feature former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr. "He's a truly great guitarist and he has something that nobody else has," he said. "He's amazing, a top man."

Chasing Yesterday Tracklist
 01. Riverman
02. In The Heat Of The Moment
03. The Girl With X-Ray Eyes
04. Lock All The Doors
05. The Dying Of The Light
06. The Right Stuff
07. While The Song Remains The Same
08. The Mexican
09. You Know We Can’t Go Back
10. Ballad Of The Mighty I