January 19, 2018 / 2:50 AM

Stay Connected

Dave Cobb Taps Chris Stapleton, Miranda Lambert, John Paul White for 'Southern Family'

by Carolyn Menyes   Dec 31, 2015 17:20 PM EST

Dave Cobb has had a massive 2015, with Chris Stapleton's debut album Traveller sweeping the CMA Awards and Jason Isbell's new album Something More Than Free racking up critical acclaim. Looking to the new year, the country producer will continue with his impressive output with his own compilation concept album Southern Family, which not only features Stapleton and Isbell but country favorites such as Miranda Lambert, Zac Brown and Shooter Jennings.

According to Taste of Country, the new 12-track album will be released on March 18, 2016, via his own Low Country Sound label. While the majority of these songs, such as Isbell's "God Is a Working Man," Lambert's "Sweet By and By" and Brandy Clark's "I Cried" will tell their own stories, a sure album highlight will be Chris and Morgan Stapleton's take on "You Are My Sunshine."

"Everybody has an intimate story and it was something that everybody could relate to. I wanted to have really talented artists custom write and do songs that mean a lot to them, and also just make the song that maybe they wouldn't put on their record: the deep song, or the song that doesn't fit in the queue or wouldn't be a single. I wanted them to do the most honest song they could possibly do," Cobb said in an interview with Rolling Stone Country.

Ahead of the album's release, John Paul White, formerly of The Civil Wars, released his debut solo single, the stunning "Simple Song."

Southern Family Tracklist:

01. John Paul White, "Simple Song"
02. Jason Isbell, "God Is a Working Man"
03. Brent Cobb, "Down Home"
04. Miranda Lambert, "Sweet By and By"
05. Morgane Stapleton & Chris Stapleton, "You Are My Sunshine"
06. Zac Brown, "Grandma's Garden"
07. Jamey Johnson, "Momma's Table"
08. Anderson East, "Learning"
09. Holly Williams, "Settle Down"
10. Brandy Clark, "I Cried"
11. Shooter Jennings, "Can You Come Over?"
12. Rich Robinson, feat. the Settles Connection, "The Way Home"

Real Time Analytics