Post Death Soundtrack 'The Unlearning Curve' Album Review [LISTEN]

By Jon Niles | May 02, 2016 02:18 PM EDT

While I generally hate band names that are similar to Post Death Soundtrack's, I can't help but love the Canadian trip-hop trio's new album title, The Unlearning Curve. Sure, it's basically just a pun, but it brings you in for a 9-track compilation of genre-jumping songs. Check out my review of this new album, which comes out on May 27, 2016, right here.

Post Death Soundtrack consists of Kenneth Buck, Steve Moore and Jon Ireson, who came together after the band's three-year hiatus to release a brand new collection of tunes that challenges listeners to appreciate the different influences all three songwriters bring to the table.

I can best describe the band's sound as experimental, which is definitely a cop-out because there's just so much going on throughout the record. And as odd-ball composition shines in each layered track, there's also a simplicity to The Unlearning Curve.

Watch video

It's a mysterious record that is clearly bold and polarizing, but it's also very fun. It sounds like your favorite band did a bunch of drugs after delivering your favorite album a few years earlier, making you rethink your tastes in sound. The Unlearning Curve is an apt title in that it allows fans of music to question what they enjoy.

RIYL: Portishead, Massive Attack, David Bowie, Skinny Puppy, etc.

You can stream 2 tracks, "That Which Is" and "You Can't Go Back," from the new album right here (via SoundCloud):

Check out the tracklist to The Unlearning Curve, out on May 27, right here:
1. That Which Is
2. You Can't Go Back
3. Our Time Is Now
4. Beauty Eyes I Adore
5. Arrhythmia Dreaming
6. Little Alice
7. Through The Gates
8. Dance With The Devil
9. Transform In White Light

Follow the band on Facebook and Instagram.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

Related Stories

Most Popular