June 18, 2018 / 9:06 AM

Stay Connected

Erykah Badu to Host 2015 Soul Train Awards, The Weeknd & Bruno Mars Lead Nominations



On the heels of the release of her remix of "Hotline Bling," Erykah Badu is slated to host the 2015 Soul Train Awards. The Weeknd and Bruno Mars lead this year's nominations with five nods apiece.

As noted by Rap-Up, viewers and attendees alike may be in for some unpredictable moments from Badu. No stranger to adding the "wow factor," the soul vocalist publicly stripped nude in her video for "Window Seat" and attempted to kiss a New York reporter during a live broadcast last summer.

More recently, Badu put her own spin on Drake's smash single "Hotline Bling." She is also prepping the release of her upcoming mixtape, But U Caint Use My Phone.

This year, the Soul Train Awards will honor Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds with the Legend Award and Jill Scott, who will accept the first-ever Lady of Soul Award.

The Weeknd is nominated for Best R&B/Soul Male Artist and Best Album of the Year for Beauty Behind the Madness, while Mars and Mark Ronson are up for Best Dance Performance and Best Collaboration for “Uptown Funk.” All three are nominated for Video and Song of the Year as well as The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award.

Beyoncé, Chris Brown, Jidenna and Tyrese follow with four nominations individually. Nicki Minaj, D’Angelo and Big Sean are also nominated in multiple categories.

No word yet on who will perform at the ceremony, which will be taped on Nov. 6 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, and air Nov. 29 at 8 p.m. on Centric and BET.

Leading up to the awards, Soul Train will host a weekend of festivities in Las Vegas including a concert with R. Kelly and Babyface. In the meantime, check out a full list of this year's nominees below.

Best New Artist
Alessia Cara
DeJ Loaf
Jussie Smollett

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Chris Brown
The Weeknd
Trey Songz

Centric Certified Award
Chrisette Michele
The Internet
Vivian Green

Video Of The Year
Beyoncé – “7/11″
Jidenna ft. Roman Gianarthur – “Classic Man”
Kendrick Lamar – “Alright”
Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
The Weeknd – “Earned It” (from the Fifty Shades Of Grey soundtrack)

Best Gospel And/Or Inspirational Song
Erica Campbell – “More Love”
Fred Hammond ft. Breeann Hammond – “I Will Trust”
Kirk Franklin – “Wanna Be Happy?”
Lecrae – “All I Need Is You”
Marvin Sapp – “Yes You Can”

Album Of The Year
Chris Brown – X
D’Angelo and The Vanguard – Black Messiah
Jill Scott – Woman
The Weeknd – Beauty Behind The Madness
Tyrese – Black Rose

Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year
Big Sean ft. Drake & Kanye West – “Blessings”
Big Sean ft. E-40 – “IDFWU”
Fetty Wap – “Trap Queen”
Kendrick Lamar – “Alright”
Nicki Minaj ft. Drake & Lil Wayne – “Truffle Butter”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Janelle Monáe
Janet Jackson
Jill Scott
Tamar Braxton

Song Of The Year
Common & John Legend – “Glory” (from the motion picture Selma)
Jidenna ft. Roman Gianarthur – “Classic Man”
Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Rihanna – “B***h Better Have My Money”
The Weeknd – “Earned It” (from the Fifty Shades Of Grey soundtrack)

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Glory” (from the motion picture Selma) – Written by: Lonnie Rashid Lynn, John Roger Stephens and Che Smith (Common & John Legend)
“Apparently: – Written by: Jermaine L. Cole, Damon Coleman, Filippo Trecca (J. Cole)
“Uptown Funk” – Written by: Mark Ronson, Rudolph Taylor, Lonnie Simmons, Philip Martin Lawrence Ii, Peter Gene Hernandez, Jeffrey Nath Bhasker, Nicholaus Joseph Williams, Devon Christopher Gallaspy, Robert Lynn Wilson, Charles K. Wilson, Ronnie Wilson (Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars)
“Earned It” (from the Fifty Shades Of Grey soundtrack) – Written by: Abel “The Weeknd” Tesfaye, Ahmad “Belly” Balshe, Jason Quenneville, Stephan Moccio (The Weeknd)
“Shame” – Written by: Warryn S. Campbell Ii, Sam Dees, Tyrese Darnell Gibson, Ron Kersey, De Wayne Julius Rogers (Tyrese)

Best Dance Performance
Beyoncé – “7/11″
Chris Brown x Tyga – “Ayo”
Janelle Monáe & Jidenna – “Yoga”
Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Silento – “Watch Me (Whip/Nae Nae)”

Best Collaboration
Big Sean ft. Drake & Kanye West – “Blessings”
Common & John Legend – “Glory” (from the motion picture Selma)
Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Nicki Minaj ft. Beyoncé – “Feeling Myself”
Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhené Aiko – “Post To Be”

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics