June 18, 2018 / 5:25 PM

Stay Connected

Erykah Badu Shares Tracklist for New Mixtape 'But You Caint Use My Phone'



Earlier this month, Erykah Badu shared another cut from her new mixtape But You Caint Use My Phone. More recently, she unveiled the tracklist for the project, which happens to be all about phones.

As noted by Pitchfork, the title of the mixtape is a reference to a line from Badu's 1997 track "Tyrone". According to a press release, "each song makes reference to telephones and our own reliance on staying inter-connected." The site also reports that the tape promises "surprises" and "guests."

In October, Badu took to SoundCloud to share a remix of Drake's "Hotline Bling," which she titled "HOTLINE BLING BUT U CAINT USE MY PHONE MIX." The track, co-written by Seven Benjamin, Badu's son with Andre 3000, appears on But You Caint Use My Phone under its new title, "Cell U Lar Device." The mixtape also features "Phone Down."

Badu's last album, New Amerykah Part Two: Return of the Ankh, was released in 2010. But You Caint Use My Phone is out Friday (Nov. 27) as an iTunes/Apple Music exclusive. It will be available via other digital services on Dec. 4.

Aside from releasing new music, Badu is also set to host this year's Soul Train Awards. As previously noted, viewers and attendees alike may be in for some unpredictable moments from Badu. No stranger to adding the "wow factor," the soul vocalist publicly stripped nude in her video for "Window Seat" and attempted to kiss a New York reporter during a live broadcast last summer.

Taped on Nov. 6 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, the ceremony will air Nov. 29 at 8 p.m. on Centric and BET.

Check out the trackless for But You Caint Use My Phone below:

01. Caint Use My Phone Suite
02. Hi
03. Cell U Lar Device
04. Phone Down
05. U Use To Call Me
06. Mr. Telephone Man
07. U Don’t Have To Call
08. Whats Yo Phone Number
09. Dial’afreaq
10. I’ll Call U Back
11. Hello

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

See More Erykah Badu
© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics