The soundtrack to Heaven Adores You, the critically acclaimed documentary about tortured musical artist Elliott Smith, features a number of rare and unreleased tracks recording by the late singer-songwriter. It has a release date set for Feb. 5, 2016, so the people behind the documentary are sharing some of these songs this week online. You can listen to an unreleased, solo version of "Plainclothes Man," a song from Smith's former band Heatmiser, and a rare track entitled "True Love," both off of the new soundtrack, below.

You can check out more buzzing news coverage from Music Times right here!

As Consequence of Sound points out, "Plainclothes Man" was featured on the 1996 album Mic City Sons from Heatmiser. This solo version was released online earlier this week, and fans of Smith are sure to fall in love with it as if it were a brand new track for the deceased artist.

Speaking with Stereogum about Smith rerecording the song in a different way, Heaven Adores You soundtrack supervisor Kevin Moyer explained: "I think Elliott was rebelling against his own sound at the time. I don't think it was anything personal and it was just his way of moving on probably, as he wasn't always the best with closure. At the time it was the rise of grunge and heavy and loud sound and Heatmiser was there at the top of the heap and I think he just got tired of it. So he stripped it all down and just began performing by himself alone on stage sitting on a folding chair and strumming an acoustic guitar. At the time, that was not the popular thing to do. I mean, that's punk right there."

Have a listen for yourself right here.

Meanwhile, "True Love" is exactly the kind of song you'd expect from the layered songwriter. It'll bring you back to the first time you listened to Smith as you, for better or worse, put yourself in the songwriter's shoes and explored your emotions.

Listen to this song right here:

You can stream the entire soundtrack to this documentary over at NPR right now.

Here is the tracklist of this highly anticipated soundtrack, via Pitchfork:

01 Untitled Guitar Finger Picking [1983]
02 Untitled Melancholy Song [1993]
03 Don't Call Me Billy [early version of "Fear City"] [1993]
04 Christian Brothers [performed with Heatmiser] [1995]
05 Hamburgers [performed with Neil Gust] [1995]
06 Plainclothes Man [Elliott solo version] [1996]
07 Unknown Song (instrumental) [1994]
08 Say Yes [live at Yo Yo Festival 1997] [1997]
09 Unknown (instrumental) [1994]
10 Coast to Coast [early version] [1995-96]
11 Waltz #1 (demo) [1997]
12 Untitled Soft Song in F [1993]
13 True Love [2001]
14 Miss Misery [live on "Late Night With Conan O'Brien"] [1998]
15 L.A. [1999]
16 Son of Sam (acoustic) [1999]
17 The Last Hour [early version] [1999]
18 Everything Means Nothing to Me [1999]
19 Happiness [1999]
20 I Love My Room [1984-85]