December 15, 2018 / 9:29 PM

Stay Connected

LISTEN: Billy Ray Cyrus Releases Single from Upcoming Album, ‘Icon: The Distance’



It looks as if Billy Ray Cyrus is reminding us all that long before he became known as Miley's dad, he had a largely successful career as a musician, with his 1992 debut album, Some Gave All, climbing up the charts and selling 20 million copies throughout the world. The album held many beloved tracks, but of course, nothing would match the immense popularity of what would become the country crooner's signature tune, "Achy Breaky Heart."

To celebrate his stellar beginnings in the music business, Cyrus is about to release a retrospective album titled Icon: The Distance. The record will largely consist of fresh takes on some of Cyrus' past hits and even tracks that never made the airwaves. It includes a duet between him and daughter Miley Cyrus titled "Stand" as well as his "Country Music Has The Blues" collaboration with George Jones and Loretta Lynn.

Kicking off the album of past hits is "The Distance," the only brand new song to appear on Icon: The Distance. Cyrus recently told Rolling Stone Country, "The song is about going full circle in my life both personally and professionally. I'm proud to still be standing here and looking forward to what the future holds. I am going the distance."

Icon: The Distance will be released tomorrow, June 3. Listen to "The Distance" below:

Check out the track list for Billy Ray Cyrus' new album:

01. The Distance
02. Trail of Tears
03. Call Me Daddy
04. Busy Man
05. Wanna Be Your Joe
06. Stand (featuring Miley Cyrus)
07. The Freebird Fell
08. Need a Little Help
09. Country Music Has The Blues (with George Jones and Loretta Lynn)
10. Some Gave All (acoustic)
11. Achy Breaky Heart

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics