June 21, 2018 / 10:00 AM

Stay Connected

Jason Isbell Tells Fans Not To Buy 2008 EP 'Live at Twist & Shout' Rerelease



Jason Isbell is urging fans not to purchase the 2008 EP Live at Twist & Shout on Record Store Day this coming April. 

According to the singer-songwriter, New West has published the record on vinyl without his approval. 

"Hey guys if you can't get your hands on our live EP rerelease for Record Store Day, don't worry," he tweeted on March 10, Saturday morning. "It's not very good! That was back before I owned my record label so I can't do much about it. Cheers!" 

The live set was the first recorded appearance of Isbell's band, the 400 Unit. It features performances of tracks by the Drive-By Truckers including "Danko/Manuel" and a cover of "Into the Mystic" performed originally by Van Morrison. It was recorded in Denver, Colorado. 

The performance came a few months after Isbell's split from Drive-By Truckers. 

The Live at Twist & Shout EP rerelease will be limited to only 3,000 copies. It will be available in independent record stores that will be participating in the Record Store Day festivities across the United States.

For those who would heed Isbell's warning, the singer-songwriter also responded to a fan's suggestion that they release the performance through his own record label, Southeastern Records. He said that he is currently working on it. 

Record Store Day 2018 Collectibles

There are also a bunch of other special offers for music fans on April 21. A number of artists will be coming out with limited-run of reissues, previously unreleased concert materials, studio outtakes, and more. 

Among the artists that will release new material from the Record Store Day 2018 are AC/DC, Ella Fitzgerald, David Bowie, Pink Floyd, Bruce Springsteen, U2, Led Zeppelin, Madonna, Eric Chruch, Brothers Osborne, Arcade Fire, and Taylor Swift

The official website of Record Store Day has released a complete list of special offers and participating stores on April 21. 

Record Store Day is an annual event that aims to support independent record stores across the United States and around the world This year, the event chose the hip-hop duo Run The Jewels as the ambassadors. 

"Indie stores fostered my love of rap," said rapper Killer Mike. "Super Sounds in Atlanta [and Decatur] were my havens as a kid. That's where I heard new music, argued about our favorite artists and even met some artists there. I lived for the day I was a poster on the wall."

Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit Track List

1. "Grown"

2. "Goddamn Lonely Love"

3. "Hurricanes And Hand Grenades"

4. "Danko/Manuel"

5. "Outfit"

6. "Into The Mystic"

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics