The Cure celebrates their 40th anniversary with a performance at London's Hyde Park last weekend. Frontman Robert Smith struggled during his set, however, due to the scorching heat.

Prior to his performance, Smith told the concertgoers that he cannot perform until the sun sets. He was clad in an all-black ensemble and said that the heat is eating up his energy.

At around 9:30 p.m., when the sun finally set, Smith gave an all-out performance of some of the band's hit songs like "Finally," "Close To Me," and "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep."

Robert Smith Talks About The Cure's Anniversary

Other than singing, Smith also talked about the band's anniversary and said that it has been 40 years since they first set foot on stage as The Cure.

"And if you'd ask me then what I'd be doing in 40 years, I would be wrong. But it's thanks to everyone around me that we're still here, and to you all as well, so thank you very much," said Smith.

The other tracks that The Cure performed on Saturday night include "Plainsong," "Pictures Of You," "High," "A Forest," "A Night Like This," "The Walk," "The End of the World," "Lovesong," "Push," "In Between Days," "Just Like Heaven," "Play For Today," "Shake Dog Shake," "Burn," "Fascination Street," "Never Enough," and more.

Who Is The Cure?

The Cure is an English rock band formed in 1976 in West Sussex. The band and its original members first released its song in 1979 as part of the launch of its first album Three Imaginary Boys. This was followed by the release of the 1982 compilation Pornography.

Since its inception, The Cure has witnessed multiple changes with regards to its members. The current lineup includes Simon Gallup, bass guitarist, Pearl Thompson, guitarist, Lol Tolhurst, drummer, Jason Cooper, drummer, and Roger O'Donnell, keyboardist.

Former members included Reeves Gabrels, guitarist, Peter O'Toole, vocalist, Gary X, vocalist, Boris Williams, drummer, Michael Dempsey, bass guitarist, Perry Bamonte, guitarist, Andy Anderson, drummer, Phil Thornalley, bass guitarist, Matthieu Hartley, keyboardist, Martin Creasy, vocalist, Mark Ceccagno, lead guitarist, Graham's Brother, vocalist, and Graham, drummer.

Some of the band's other albums are Disintegration, Seventeen Seconds, Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Wish, The Head of the Door, Faith, Bloodflowers, Wild Mood Swings, The Top, Show, The Cure, 4:13 Dream, Entreat, Paris, Acoustic Daze, Mixed Up, Standing On A Beach, Torn Down, Japanese Whispers, and more.