June 18, 2019 / 9:55 AM

Stay Connected

Radiohead Performs In Toronto For The First Time Since Fatal 2012 Stage Collapse



Radiohead is back in Toronto for the first time since 2012's fatal accident. That time, the stage where the band performed collapsed.

The band's drum technician, Scott Johnson, was killed following the incident. Phillip Selway, Radiohead's drummer, said that he and his bandmates have not moved on from the incident even though it has already been six years.

"There have been no real answers... without the answers, we can't ensure that an accident like this can't happen again," said Selway.

Selway also said that he is mourning the death of Johnson. The drummer said that Johnson was a lovely man. He added that the drum technician was positive, funny, and supportive.

Prosecutor David McCaskill blamed the accident from the miscalculation of the roof's weight. Last year, a judge based in Ontario filed a case against the show's promoter, Live Nation, due to the slow progress of the lawsuit.

Thom Yorke Comments On 2012 Incident

Thom Yorke, the band's vocalist, also opened up about the tragic incident during a recent interview.

"People are still not being held accountable in your city. The silence is deafening," said Yorke.

Radiohead is set to perform at Scotiabank Arena on July 19 and 20. In 2016, Radiohead also performed at Montreal's Osheaga Music Festival. That time, the band sang "Burn the Witch" and "Bodysnatchers." The members closed their set with "Creep."

Radiohead's Albums, Songs

Radiohead is an English rock band from Abingdon, Oxfordshire that was formed in 1985. Other than Yorke and Selway, the band also includes Jonny Greenwood, Colin Greenwood, Ed O'Brien, Nigel Godrich, and Stanley Donwood.

In 1991, the band signed under EMI. A year later, Radiohead dropped its debut single "Creep," and it is included in the Pablo Honey album. In 1995, the band dropped The Bends. Both albums were huge hits in the United Kingdom. In 1997, the group's third studio album, OK Computer, propelled them to international fame.

The band's other albums are Kid A, Amnesiac, Hail to the Thief, In Rainbows, The King of Limbs, and A Moon Shaped Pool.

Some of the band's songs include "Karma Police," "No Surprises," "Street Spirit," "Paranoid Android," "Fake Plastic Trees," "High and Dry," "Pyramid Song," "Lotus Flower," "Exit Music," "Reckoner," "Just," "Lift," "True Love Waits," "Let Down," "I Promise," "Idioteque," "Burn the Witch," "Everything In Its Right Place," "How to Disappear Completely," "Daydreaming," "The National Anthem," and more.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics