April 21, 2019 / 1:07 AM

Stay Connected

Hardwell Releases Debut Album 'United We Are' Featuring Jason Derulo, Mr Probz, Tiësto & Others [LISTEN]



Dutch superstar DJ Hardwell has released his debut album United We Are. Known for his anthemic singles and explosive live sets, Robbert van de Corput has taken the risk of releasing a full-length LP. The album has features and collaborations alongside the likes of Mr. Probz, Tiësto, Jason Derulo, W&W and others. The variation in artists lends itself to the assortment of different genres contained within the 14-track LP.

Hardwell stated in the lead-up to the album that he was looking to experiment with a variety of different genres and styles, not just the sound that has made him Holland's big room ambassador. The album delivers on that mission, but in a somewhat chaotic manner as if created by someone looking to put out a best hits of their recent work rather than a complete thought that connects from start to finish.

He commented on how the album reflected on who he is as an artist in a press release: "I wanted to create something that reflects me as an artist, which showcases my abilities as a producer, whilst keeping one foot in my world as a DJ."

The album starts strong with the cinematic and invited opener, "Eclipse" that ushers in the mood of the album, but quickly switches to pop crossover "Follow Me" with Jason Derulo, which looks like an attempt to court the American radio market. He falls back into familiar territory with tunes like "Don't Stop The Madness" and "Area51," which have the modern festival Hardwell feel. He takes an interesting turn towards the old sound of his mentor, Tiësto, with some trance influenced songs including the title track "United We Are."

Hardwell does well to take risks that are afforded to musicians in a full-length, however the final execution was a little flawed and the real "album" element is missing.

Stream United We Are via Hardwell's YouTube channel and see the full tracklist below. Purchase the album on iTunes.

United We Are Tracklist:

01. Eclipse
02. Follow Me, ft. Jason Derulo
03. Sally, ft. Harrison
04. Let Me Be Your Home, ft Bright Lights
05. Colors, w/ Tiësto, ft. Andreas Moe
06. Where Is Here Now, w/ Funkerman ft. I-Fan
07. United We Are, ft. Amba Shepherd
08. Don't Stop The Madness, w/ W&W ft. Fatman Scoop
09. Young Again, ft. Chris Jones
10. Echo, ft. Jonathan Mendelsohn
11. Arcadia, w/ Joey Dale ft. Luciana
12. Area51, w/ Dallask
13. Nothing Can Hold Us Down, w/ Headhunterz ft. Haris
14. Birds Fly, ft. Mr. Probz

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics