Former Red Hot Chili Peppers and The Mars Volta guitarist John Frusciante has announced a new solo album, a self-titled effort under the name Trickfinger -- the album cover is up above -- and has shared its opening track "After Below," which you can check out below. Though Frusciante has explored electronic music on his most recent solo releases, Consequence of Sound reported that Frusciante will be diving headfirst into a new "experimental acid house" style for this album. Trickfinger is set for release April 7 through Acid Test.

You can check out Trickfinger's new song "After Below" here:

According to a statement he shared concering the album's production, Frusciante has been working on Trickfinger since 2007, when he "started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware."

"For about seven months, I didn't record anything," Frusciante explained. "Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I'd surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end."

Trickfinger will be John Frusciante's 13th solo album overall, his first since 2014's Enclosure. It will also be his second solo album since leaving the Red Hot Chili Peppers in 2009. You can check out the Music Times Junk Mail review for Enclosure here.

You can check out the tracklist for Trickfinger here:

01. After Below
02. Before Above
03. Rainover
04. Sain
05. Exlam
06. 85h
07. 4:30
08. Phurip

What do you think of Trickfinger's new song "After Below"? Let us know down in the comments section.