Major Lazer's long-awaited cartoon series finally has a launch date. The premiere will take place on Thursday, April 16 at midnight as a part of FXX's regular Animation Domination programming. According to YourEDM, the show will not only feature the Major Lazer character that has been a fixture in their videos over the past few years, but it will also have guest appearances from stars like comedians Aziz Ansari and Andy Samberg and musicians like Tiësto, Trinidad James, Charli XCX, RiFF RAFF, The Vampire Weekend's Ezra Koening and many more.

Diplo, who serves as the co-creator and executive producer for the series as the headmaster of Major Lazer, outlines the premise of the series in a press release via Consequence of Sound:

The reggae dancehall grooves of Major Lazer are just one of the highlights in Major Lazer. The animated series tells the story of a superhero named Major Lazer who, with the help of his two teenaged friends, Penny and BLKMRKT, fights against the villains that populate the futuristic dystopia that is Jamaica. A self-proclaimed "Guardian of the Groove," Major Lazer vows to fight for the rights of the Jamaican people and to bring down the ruthless curmudgeon, President Whitewall.

The series will air weekly starting on April 16 on FXX and each episode will be made available the following day on iTunes and Hulu.

The timing of the series starting coincides with the release of Major Lazer's upcoming album, Peace Is the Mission, which will feature Ellie Goulding, Ariana Grande, 2 Chainz, Elliphant, Pusha T and others.

Watch the short series trailer that has been floating around for quite some time and which uses a new song titled "Vegan Vampire" from Major Lazer that features Ezra Koening.