June 21, 2018 / 10:11 AM

Stay Connected

Josh Homme, Iggy Pop Team Up for New Album 'Post Pop Depression' with Tour, 'Colbert' Plans



Queens of the Stone Age frontman and Eagles of Death Metal drummer Josh Homme is strapping up for a new collaborative album alongside rock icon Iggy Pop titled Post Pop Depression.

According to The New York Times, the album is slated for a March release date via Loma Vista and will bring the two rockers on the road for a tour with fellow bandmates Dean Fertita, of Queens of the Stone Age and Dead Weather, Matt Helders, drummer for the Arctic Monkeys, Troy Van Leeuwen, guitarist also of Queens of the Stone Age fame, and Matt Sweeney, bassist for Chavez.

"There won't be hardly any shows, and they won't be in big places, and you won't be able to get a ticket," Homme said. "So almost everyone won't see it. It will be like trying to catch smoke in your hands. And that makes it even better. It will be special, and it will be over in the blink of an eye."

Iggy Pop added that he plans to play several of his oldies during the tour including "Success," a song off Lust For Life that the rocker has never performed live.

Even though you may not get to see Post Pop Depression live for yourself, fans will have a chance to watch the band's television debut on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert tonight (Jan. 21), hopefully performing one of the new songs created in secrecy.

We don't know what a Homme/ Pop collaboration sounds like yet, but The Times describes it as music that shows fingerprints of both artist's work as they claim to pick up where Lust For Life left off. The music draws on memories and history, hinting at characters and offering advice and confessionals.

When asked about the album's theme, Iggy Pop said, "What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?"

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2018 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics