May 20, 2019 / 7:36 AM

Stay Connected

LISTEN: Lil Wayne Releases ‘Dedication 6’ Mixtape, Samples Kendrick Lamar, Jay-Z



Lil Wayne has officially released Dedication 6, a new mixtape and another installment of his Dedication series, the first of which was released in 2005 simply as The Dedication.

In the mixtape, the Grammy-winning rapper introduces his own spin on a smattering of recent hits, including "DNA" by Kendrick Lamar, from DAMN. and "The Story of O.J." by Jay-Z, from 4:44.

Wayne's Dedication series is largely different from mixtapes released by other artists. While others treat mixtapes as almost standalone albums or passion projects, Wayne still approaches it as he did years ago, by taking other rappers' tracks, creating a unique iteration off of them, then releasing everything for free.

Dedication 6 was produced by DJ Drama, a longtime collaborator of Wayne's. It is available for streaming via the Dedication by DatPiff app, the YouTube playlist, or the website. Wayne tapped quite a host of collaborators for the project, including Nicki Minaj for a version of "Rockstar" by Post Malone, Gudda Gudda, Euro, and many others.

It also includes a remix of "Bank Account" by 21 Savage, plus new takes on "XO Tour Llif3" and "For Real" off Lil Uzi Vert's Luv Is Rage 2 album.

But most importantly, Dedication 6 contains new Wayne material. Since No Ceilings 2 in 2015, the rapper hasn't released anything significant. However, the rapper did appear on T-Wayne earlier this year, which contained unreleased tracks that were originally recorded with T-Pain in 2009.

Even though Wayne's last proper studio release was Free Weezy Album in 2015, he's still had a major presence in the hip-hop and rap scene by helping produce "I'm the One" by DJ Khaled and "Love U Better" by Ty Dolla $ign. He also collaborated with Solange on her critically acclaimed album A Seat At The Table. Wayne is working on an upcoming album called Tha Carter V, but due to various issues and disputes, its release is currently delayed, but Wayne has confirmed that it'll see the light of day.

"Of course you're going to see Tha Carter V. I just don't want to put it out the wrong way. Honestly, I can do what I want at any time. The fans deserve it to be right and that's how it's gonna be," Wayne said this August.

Below is the full Dedication 6 tracklist, along with a few songs you can play. As always, tell us your thoughts about Dedication 6 in the comments section below!

1) Fly Away

2) Everyday We Sick

3) Boyz 2 Menace (featuring Gudda Gudda)

5) Eureka (featuring HoodyBaby)

5) 5 Star (featuring Nicki Minaj)

6) Bank Account

7) XO Tour Life (featuring Baby E)

8) Let Em All In (featuring Euro & Cory Gunz)

9) Young

10) New Freezer (featuring Gudda Gudda)

11) What's Next (featuring Zoey Dollaz)

12) Blackin Out (featuring Euro)

13) Suwu

14) My Dawg (featuring HoodyBaby)

15) Yeezy Sneakers

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics