Lady Gaga "A-Yo" Review: 'Joanne' Singer Drops Funky Single Ahead Of Album Release

By Ryan Middleton | Oct 18, 2016 02:34 PM EDT

Lady Gaga is gearing up to release her first artist album in five year with Joanne, and has released a new single off of the LP, "A-YO." The blend of country, funk and rock showcases yet another direction that Joanne seems to be heading in.

The song was one of the records premiered by Gaga on her dive bar tour in Nashville. It fits the bill of a track that would work well in a small venue with a driving, funky beat and a rock rhythm. Her voice fits with the upbeat and fun vibe of the track as she shows her range from slower ballads, to upbeat more straight away dance-pop jams like "Perfect Illusion" and now this.

It should have some radio appeal and if nothing else get those fingers snapping and feet shuffling along to the beat. "A-YO" was co-written by Gaga, Mark Ronson and Bloodpop, alongside Hillary Lindsey, who has had her hand in many different country hits.

Watch video

Joanne will be released this Friday, Oct. 21. "A-YO" is the third single to emerge from the increasingly diverse album. We will see what she has in store for the complete LP. Pick up "A-YO" on iTunes in the meantime and re-order the LP here.

Jonanne Tracklist:

01. Diamond Heart
02. A-Yo
03. Joanne
04. John Wayne
05. Dancin' In Circles
06. Perfect Illusion (feat. Josh Homme, Kevin Parker, Mark Ronson, and Bloodpop)
07. Million Reasons
08. Sinner's Prayer (feat. Father John Misty)
09. Come To Mama
10. Hey Girl (feat. Florence and the Machine)
11. Angel Down
12. Grigio Girls (Deluxe Edition Track)
13. Just Another Day (Deluxe Edition Track)
14. Angel Down (Work Tape) (Deluxe Edition Track)

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

Related Stories

Most Popular