January 23, 2019 / 8:23 PM

Stay Connected

Listen To John Mayer's 'New Light' Produced By No I.D.



John Mayer surprises his fans with his new song called "New Light." The track was released one month after the singer celebrated the first anniversary of The Search For Everything.

"New Light" was produced by No I.D. Days before its release, Mayer shared an artsy portrait of himself with his electric guitar. At the time, he hinted at releasing a summer track for all of his supporters. A few minutes later, he confirmed that his new song will arrive on May 10.

Mayer's new song marks his first release since last year's The Search For Everything. The compilation also featured the songs "Still Feel Like Your Man," "Emoji of a Wave," "Helpless," "Love on the Weekend," "In the Blood," "Changing," "Theme For The Search For Everything," "Moving On and Getting Over," "Never on the Day You Leave," "Rosie," "Roll It on Home," and "You're Gonna Live Forever In Me."

From the looks of it, Mayer will also be releasing a new album in the coming months. "New Light" will be included in his eighth studio album.

John Mayer Talks About 'The Search For Everything'

Following the release of The Search For Everything, Mayer opened up about some of the songs in his album and said that they are about his past love. The 40-year-old musician indirectly said that the tracks are about his ex-girlfriend Katy Perry. Mayer, however, did say that the only serious relationship he has ever had was with Perry.

Perry and Mayer's on-again-off-again relationship ended in 2015. Since then, the "Your Body Is A Wonderland" singer has used dating apps, but he has not found love yet. One day, Mayer says he hopes to have a wife and a son who will watch his shows from the sidelines.

"I want to say, 'We'll take it.' I'm right on time for my career, and I'm running late for my life," said Mayer.

John Mayer's Music Career

Mayer is an American singer, songwriter, guitarist, and producer. Before pursuing his solo music career, Mayer was part of the two-man band called Lo-Fi Masters. After its split, Mayer played at local clubs, and he eventually signed to Aware Records. He later signed with Columbia Records.

His albums include Continuum, Born and Raised, Room for Squares, Paradise Valley, Battle Studies, Heavier Things, As/Is, Any Given Thursday, and more.

Some of his songs include "Gravity," "Free Fallin'," "Waiting on the World to Change," "Daughters," "Who You Love," and more.

See Now: Ariana Grande 'No Tears Left To Cry': Full Lyrics And Music Video

© 2019 Music Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Real Time Analytics